Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Janelleschi
Guest
Guest

Joined: 02 Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:09 pm    Post subject: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

I'm currently using Slabs to show exterior site-work such as steps, patios, etc. as well as for the model base itself. On my demolition plan, I want to show some of the steps with dashed edges. The problem I'm having is that when two adjacent slabs are viewed in plan, their edges overlap. This results in a solid line in plan, even if both slab edge pens are set to dashed, because the dashes do not necessarily occur in the same place.

Is it possible to set ArchiCad to display only the slab edge line of the upper slab, so that this overlap does not occur? Is there another way of fixing this problem without resorting to 2D fixes?

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
JaredBanks
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 657
Location: Seattle, Washington

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

Can you hide one of the slabs? Some people have also had luck with making one of the slab's lines white. I tend to do 80% of my dashed lines with 2D for ease and control (and because some of my coworkers want to see dashed lines meet perfectly at corners).
_________________
Jared Banks, AIA
ArchiCAD blog: www.shoegnome.com
ArchiCAD tutorial videos: www.youtube.com/user/ShoegnomeLLC

ArchiCAD 21 US Latest Hotfixes / Updates
Mac OS X 10.12.newest | Mac Book Pro | 2.4GHz Intel Core i7 Quad Core | 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

Check the attached image. It explains how to achieve this.

The line type pattern of polygons is drawn starting from their start point. The below trick works because we start the polygon for both Slabs at the same point and we are drawing them in the same direction.
If you create a Polygon using SPACE-click, the beginning point of the polygon and its direction is not under your control. This is why you should draw it manually in such a case.



PolygonsCommonEdge.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  17.49 KB
 Viewed:  1074 Time(s)

PolygonsCommonEdge.png



_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995


Last edited by laszlonagy on Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:28 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
andro55
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 748
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

What a grate Trick. Thanks Laszlo.
_________________
Win 7 Pro_64, AC11-20+latest Hotfix, Intel i7 4770 3.4GHz, 8GB RAM, Nvidia GTX-660 2GB, Dell 24";
CAD DraftSight (Dassault)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
vistasp
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 825
Location: Bombay, India

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

Nice one Laszlo! Cool
_________________
= v i s t a s p =
bT Square Peg

http://archicadstuff.blogspot.com
http://www.btsquarepeg.com

| AC 9-21 INT | Win10 | i7 4770 | 16 GB | Quadro K620 |

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
JaredBanks
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 657
Location: Seattle, Washington

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

That's awesome. Is there anyway to reverse the direction or alter the beginning point of the slab once it's drawn (similar to some of the modify wall commands)?
_________________
Jared Banks, AIA
ArchiCAD blog: www.shoegnome.com
ArchiCAD tutorial videos: www.youtube.com/user/ShoegnomeLLC

ArchiCAD 21 US Latest Hotfixes / Updates
Mac OS X 10.12.newest | Mac Book Pro | 2.4GHz Intel Core i7 Quad Core | 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

JaredBanks wrote:
That's awesome. Is there anyway to reverse the direction or alter the beginning point of the slab once it's drawn (similar to some of the modify wall commands)?


Not that I know of.
Probably could be done with some API command.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
s2art
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 3425
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge Reply with quote

That's great if you only have 2 slabs or roofs. Unfortunately that is not always the case, especially with hip roofs.
_________________
S t u a r t . R o s e
LAD Architecture
AC19 8000 NZE
AC20 5025 NZE
HP Envy Notebook + 27"
Intel i7-6500 2.5GHz, 16GB RAM, Windows 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Dashed line display problem when 2 slabs share an edge All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy