Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Sketchup into ArchiCAD
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
RobinT
Guest
Guest

Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Portland ME

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:53 pm    Post subject: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

I would like to import a Sketchup component from the 3D Warehouse (a modeled piece of furniture) into ArchiCAD 13 but don't know how. I am reading various answers - do I need the Sketchup Add-On for ArchiCAD, or a Goodie? I don't really know much about Sketchup. By exporting the item as a .dwg I was able to bring it into ArchiCAD as a line drawing but I'd love to have the whole model.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Krippahl
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 607
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

There are a number of ways to do this, but in you case I would:

1- Export from Sketchup as a .3ds file.
2- Open ArchiCAD, go to Help Menu and click on ArchiCAD xx Downloads
3- Download and install the 3D Studio In Add-on
4- Follow it's instructions

_________________
Miguel Krippahl
www.architruques.blogspot.com

AC14, AC15, MEP Modeler, Mac OS X 10.6.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
NCornia
Graphisoft

Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 552
Location: SLC, Utah USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

I would use the Google Earth Connections add-on as it requires fewer steps and does not require the pro version of Sketchup (free version does not export to 3ds file).

The GEC add-on allows you to directly import models from the Google 3D warehouse. It also allows you to open .skp files directly in ArchiCAD. Once the add-on is installed, when you go to File>Open you will notice that .skp has been added to the available filetypes to open. The add-on also allows you to import and export from/to Google Earth, etc.

Here is the link to watch demo videos download: http://www.graphisoft.com/products/archicad/addons/google_earth/

Nicholas

_________________
Nicholas Cornia
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT North America
Follow us on Twitter
Graphisoft HelpCenter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Krippahl
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 607
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

It also only works on a Windows platform, and RobinT does not tell us what his is...
Smile

_________________
Miguel Krippahl
www.architruques.blogspot.com

AC14, AC15, MEP Modeler, Mac OS X 10.6.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
NCornia
Graphisoft

Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 552
Location: SLC, Utah USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

True, I forgot to mention that. Thanks Miguel.
_________________
Nicholas Cornia
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT North America
Follow us on Twitter
Graphisoft HelpCenter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Krippahl
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 607
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:51 am    Post subject: Re: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

Ah, and if you are using the free version of Sketchup, you have to use Blender (also free) to convert the exported COLLADA file into a .3ds file that ArchiCAD can read.
_________________
Miguel Krippahl
www.architruques.blogspot.com

AC14, AC15, MEP Modeler, Mac OS X 10.6.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
RobinT
Guest
Guest

Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Portland ME

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

Thank you for this input. The process with the exported 3ds file worked. The objects came in grossly overscaled but I was able to resize them in ArchiCAD. Many thanks again and Happy New Year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Matthew Lohden
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 6609
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Sketchup into ArchiCAD Reply with quote

RobinT wrote:
The objects came in grossly overscaled...


This is usually a units problem. Most commonly at the mm/inch ratio of 25.4 or its reciprocal. I have also seen some things from the Google warehouse that are way out of scale in SketchUp, presumably due to modeler error or unit conversions at another level.

_________________
Matthew Lohden
Consultant, SF CA

MacPro 8core 32GB Radeon 5870
OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion, XP32, Win 7x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Sketchup into ArchiCAD All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy