Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Sustainable Architecture >>> Is Eco designer star working with A17? Goto page Previous  1, 2
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
EcoBoger
New member
New member

Joined: 14 Jun 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Internet

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:34 am    Post subject: Re: Is Eco designer star working with A17? Reply with quote

davidbitter wrote:
My ArchiCAD rep advised me yesterday that the EcoDesigner Star add-on will be priced at $2,495 (discounted to $2,246 if you purchased the EcoDesigner add-on a few years ago).
OUCH !
Was hoping to be able to jump on it…not sure now. Sure has some nice features but….
Sad


I wish aside from having a set of nice features EcoDesigner actually worked. It has so many bugs and inconsistencies in calculations, that I wonder if Graphisoft actually has any quality assurance people on staff.

It takes a lot of effort to make something like ArchiCad or EcoDesigner, but if a company (Graphisoft) has no people to finish this complex work with an extensive quality assurance run - it all goes to waste.

My opinion, that it is simply irresponsible to release EcoDesigner the way it functions right now, much less charge half of ArchiCad's license price for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
gpowless
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Is Eco designer star working with A17? Reply with quote

Its lack of certification under LEEDS, EnerStar, Ashrae or HRAI kills any potential it might have had in North America. The resulting numbers are so out of whack I can't use any part of the built-in Ecodesigner to help completing simple residential heat loss / gain. It is useless as far as I am concerned.
_________________
AMD Phenom II 2800MHz 8g
2 - GeForce GTX 550 Ti +1g
2 - Viewsonic VA2226w
Microsoft Windows 10
Archicad 21 USA Full

Intel i7-6700@3.4GHz 16g
GeForce GTX 745 4g
2-HP Pavilion 25xw
Windows 10
Archicad 21 USA Full
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
EcoBoger
New member
New member

Joined: 14 Jun 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Internet

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Is Eco designer star working with A17? Reply with quote

gpowless wrote:
Its lack of certification under LEEDS, EnerStar, Ashrae or HRAI kills any potential it might have had in North America. The resulting numbers are so out of whack I can't use any part of the built-in Ecodesigner to help completing simple residential heat loss / gain. It is useless as far as I am concerned.


You know, the interesting thing is that EcoDesigner, in reality, is an immensely powerful software capable of being truly useful as well as fully standard-compliant. However, lack of attention in regards to actually making it work on the part of Graphisoft is astounding.

I wish I could afford to be this careless with my projects.

As ArchiCAD power user since mid 1990's this saddens me a great deal. I am proficient with just about any BIM application out there, but ArchiCAD has a special place in my heart since I first saw it during a version 4.1 presentation back in 1991.

Yet, I am constantly fixing errors and augmenting Graphisoft's work for the past 20 years to make this software work on my end. EcoDesigner is not an exception ether. Sad

Honestly, most fixes are very simple, but there are some that are hardcoded into the executable files and I can't fix those Sad.

I wish I knew why Graphisoft actually makes such blatant omissions. They are so easy to avoid if you just have a decent quality assurance personnel on staff capable of comprehending ArchiCAD as a whole. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
gpowless
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Is Eco designer star working with A17? Reply with quote

"I wish I knew why Graphisoft actually makes such blatant omissions."

It is because they have programmers imitating architecture instead of architects writing programs.

That aside, EcoDesigner isn't that powerful - it is way too complicated to be powerful. I too have been using Archicad since 6.0 and currently use a homemade spreadsheet to complete heat loss / gain for residential (I know not too difficult) However, integrated with that are the duct sizing calculations and ventilation duct sizing as well as shading, solar gains and even latent gains (not needed in residential but useful for evaluation purposes). While EcoDesigner could be useful, I can't even get an accurate industry-standard U-coefficient out of a composite wall. Believe me I have tried, if only for the purposes of doing the measurement portion of the heat loss / gain.

In order to be useful it must meet the requirements of HotCan 2000 in Canada or ASHRAE 90.1. Until it does it will be useless to most in North America.

_________________
AMD Phenom II 2800MHz 8g
2 - GeForce GTX 550 Ti +1g
2 - Viewsonic VA2226w
Microsoft Windows 10
Archicad 21 USA Full

Intel i7-6700@3.4GHz 16g
GeForce GTX 745 4g
2-HP Pavilion 25xw
Windows 10
Archicad 21 USA Full
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Sustainable Architecture >>> Is Eco designer star working with A17? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy