Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> Line Thickness Offset
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
66%
 66%  [ 6 ]
Important (4)
33%
 33%  [ 3 ]
Average (3)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Average: 4.67 points
Total Votes : 9

Author Message
csparchitects
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 101
Location: York, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:35 pm    Post subject: Line Thickness Offset Reply with quote

We would like the ability to offset a line thickness to left or right of the origin. We draw our details at 1:5 but it is still difficult to show DPCs/vapour control layers etc, adjacent to fills and lines which are drawn with a thick pen. Being able to thicken the line to inside of a fill depicting, say bricks, would improve the presentation of our details.
_________________
AC17 INT Windows 7 x64
Intel Xeon 2.67GHz
12GB Ram
Quadro FX580
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 6001
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 2:46 am    Post subject: Re: Line Thickness Offset Reply with quote

And have the option for square ends to lines - especially thicker ones.
Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
s2art
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 3440
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Line Thickness Offset Reply with quote

I agree, but think this would be incredibly hard to implement.

What I could see as being more easily achievable is using objects (such as the soon-to-be-discontinued Cadimage Detail Elements) with a setting within them for "back lining". Definitely doable for basic construction elements such as brick, framing, trims and linings typically shown cut in section details.

And square line ends as an option would be great too.

_________________
S t u a r t . R o s e
LAD Architecture
AC19 8000 NZE
AC20 5025 NZE
HP Envy Notebook + 27"
Intel i7-6500 2.5GHz, 16GB RAM, Windows 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
csparchitects
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 101
Location: York, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:12 am    Post subject: Re: Line Thickness Offset Reply with quote

s2art wrote:
I agree, but think this would be incredibly hard to implement.


I don't think so. I used a CAD programme called MicroGDS back in 1997 which had the option for offset line thicknesses.

_________________
AC17 INT Windows 7 x64
Intel Xeon 2.67GHz
12GB Ram
Quadro FX580
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
s2art
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 3440
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Line Thickness Offset Reply with quote

I stand corrected then. Embarassed

How would it work? Individually selected lines? A Model View Option? Offset direction? Leave original line as well as offset? Which line do you select?

_________________
S t u a r t . R o s e
LAD Architecture
AC19 8000 NZE
AC20 5025 NZE
HP Envy Notebook + 27"
Intel i7-6500 2.5GHz, 16GB RAM, Windows 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 6001
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:08 am    Post subject: Re: Line Thickness Offset Reply with quote

I guess lines could have a reference line setting like walls - left, centre, right.
Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
stsmith190582
New member
New member

Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Location: uk

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:11 am    Post subject: Re: Line Thickness Offset Reply with quote

similar request and solutions here:
http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=230584#230584
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Drafting Wishes >>> Line Thickness Offset All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy