Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> triple sliding window
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
75%
 75%  [ 3 ]
Important (4)
25%
 25%  [ 1 ]
Average (3)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Average: 4.75 points
Total Votes : 4

Author Message
johncassel
Active member
Active member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 487
Location: Makawao Maui Hawaii

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:22 am    Post subject: triple sliding window Reply with quote

I am trying to figure out how to adjust the width of each of the windows in a triple sliding window.
The real world triple sliding windows have the center fixed panel that is twice as wide as each of the two side panels which are operable.
The window manufacturers make these window like this so that when the two side panels are in the open position there is maximum venting.
I cannot find the setting in this window so I can adjust the width of the individual panels.
The triple casement window does have the option to adjust the width of the windows. The floor plan symbol for the casement window is different from the floor plan symbol for the triple sliding window.
How can I adjust the width of the individual panels in the triple sliding window?
Thank you,
John



TRIPLE SLIDER.PNG
 Description:
This is the floor plan symbol for the triple sliding window.
 Filesize:  15.92 KB
 Viewed:  391 Time(s)

TRIPLE SLIDER.PNG



_________________
John Cassel Design Studio
Makawao, Maui, Hawaii

ArchiCAD 11, 1114 USA Full (since v7)
Dell Dimension XPS8500, Windows 7
Intel i7-3770@3.4GHz
32GB RAM
AMD Radeon HD7880 8 gb ram
2) Samsung SyncMaster S27B350 27" monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
johncassel
Active member
Active member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 487
Location: Makawao Maui Hawaii

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:30 am    Post subject: Re: triple sliding window Reply with quote

this is the floor plan symbol for the triple casement window with the center panel adjusted so it is twice as wide as the side panels.


triple casement window.PNG
 Description:
this is the floor plan symbol for the triple casement window with the center panel adjusted so it is twice as wide as the side panels.
 Filesize:  16.99 KB
 Viewed:  459 Time(s)

triple casement window.PNG



_________________
John Cassel Design Studio
Makawao, Maui, Hawaii

ArchiCAD 11, 1114 USA Full (since v7)
Dell Dimension XPS8500, Windows 7
Intel i7-3770@3.4GHz
32GB RAM
AMD Radeon HD7880 8 gb ram
2) Samsung SyncMaster S27B350 27" monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 3:50 pm    Post subject: Re: triple sliding window Reply with quote

John,
Are you still on 11?
None-the-less, checking the 18 window, it still will not work the way you want, and it should.

In 18 you can set the widths or the two end window, but it only allows one end to slide. Not also that the preview window,and a placed window, do not show correct sizing.

If you are still on 11, I'll enter the bug for 18. Let me know.



Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 9.49.47 AM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  94.1 KB
 Viewed:  481 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 9.49.47 AM.png



_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
johncassel
Active member
Active member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 487
Location: Makawao Maui Hawaii

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 8:17 pm    Post subject: Re: triple sliding window Reply with quote

Aloha Erika,
Thank you for looking into this problem.

Yes, I am still on v11. It is hard to pay thousands of more dollars on top of the thousands already paid when the parts are still not working.
If Graphisoft fixed problems as they came up it would be easier to subscribe to the software. I mean really have a policy of responsive repair and communication when parts or features don't work.
Obviously, the software has gotten much better. Unfortunately in any given version of the software there have always been parts and features that don't work as intended. I feel that there has been poor communication and poor response from Graphisoft when they are alerted to those problems. If Graphisoft fixed those problems as they came up instead of putting it on the list to fix in a future version it would be easier for us consumers to feel good about paying for upgrading the software.
Think if you bought a car that had a window that didn't work and the dealer told you that if you bought a newer model that problem would be fixed.
Graphisoft's quick responsiveness and attention to features that are not working would help me (and probably many other customers) feel better about paying for upgrades.
This broken library part is an opportunity for Graphisoft to show that things have improved. You have alerted them that the part is not working. I hope that they quickly post that they have repaired the problem and have a fix ready to go.
that would make me feel better about Graphisoft's responsiveness and customer care.
Thank you for your help.
Happy New Year
Aloha,
John

_________________
John Cassel Design Studio
Makawao, Maui, Hawaii

ArchiCAD 11, 1114 USA Full (since v7)
Dell Dimension XPS8500, Windows 7
Intel i7-3770@3.4GHz
32GB RAM
AMD Radeon HD7880 8 gb ram
2) Samsung SyncMaster S27B350 27" monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Erika Epstein
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 3646
Location: usa

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:41 pm    Post subject: Re: triple sliding window Reply with quote

John,
I respect your decision. That said, there is a lot more to the upgrades than just a bad library part. The improvements in each iteration of Archicad have paid for themselves in time saved not to mention all the new features.

_________________
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
johncassel
Active member
Active member

Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 487
Location: Makawao Maui Hawaii

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:33 pm    Post subject: Re: triple sliding window Reply with quote

Aloha Erika,
Thank you for your message.
I look forward to seeing how quickly Graphisoft will/can fix this broken library part.
I am sure that there are many users who have paid for a fully functional version of ArchiCAD 18 who would be able to use this part if it was functioning properly.
I hope that the developers or the forum monitors keep us posted in case they fix it.
Aloha,
John

_________________
John Cassel Design Studio
Makawao, Maui, Hawaii

ArchiCAD 11, 1114 USA Full (since v7)
Dell Dimension XPS8500, Windows 7
Intel i7-3770@3.4GHz
32GB RAM
AMD Radeon HD7880 8 gb ram
2) Samsung SyncMaster S27B350 27" monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
ares997
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 228
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 5:02 pm    Post subject: Re: triple sliding window Reply with quote

Did the settings for the Slider3 W19 change. I can't seem to adjust the panel widths individually. I want to change the ends to be 2.5' but there doesn't seem to be a way to change it.

Any ideas?

_________________
Archicad 21 (4022), Windows 7, Intel Xenon CPU E5-2643 v4 3.40GHz (64 GB RAM) & MAC OSX 11.010, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7 (16 GB 1600 Mhz DDR3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
junior
Active member
Active member

Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 325
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 10:50 pm    Post subject: Re: triple sliding window Reply with quote

I can confirm that you cannot change the widths of the 2 slider windows on each side of the fixed on version 18. I needed to do this today and was shocked to discover it's not possible.
_________________
Junior
•Windows 7 2.4 GHz Quad Core [ArchiCAD 21]
•Mac OS X El Capitan 3.5 GHz 6-Core [ArchiCAD 21]
•User since ArchiCAD 7
•Web: JIF Hub
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Open ARCHICAD Wishes >>> triple sliding window All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy