Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Sustainable Architecture >>> Energy model not reading openings
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Nathan Brauer
Active member
Active member

Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 218
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:44 pm    Post subject: Energy model not reading openings Reply with quote

No perimeter walls nor openings are listing in my energy model.

Are zones to encompass the exterior walls?

Notes about walls and openings not listing:
Walls are complex profiles, (not composites) and are multistory.
Some walls' home story is cellar, some 1st floor; but Thermal Block Zones are on 1st floor.
Openings are anchored to 1st floor.
Position: Exterior
Reno Stat: New.

What did I miss?

_________________
Nathan Brauer
Gillis Architects
AC20 **** US Full

Mac Pro (upgraded mid 2010 model)
2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
40 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC
ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024 MB
Mac OS X Sierra 10.12.4 (11G63)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Nathan Brauer
Active member
Active member

Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 218
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Energy model not reading openings Reply with quote

As a follow=up, I opened a test file, put in all the zones, complex profile walls, etc, and the opening show up fine.

Seems like there may be a problem with the ancient file I'm working with....

_________________
Nathan Brauer
Gillis Architects
AC20 **** US Full

Mac Pro (upgraded mid 2010 model)
2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
40 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC
ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024 MB
Mac OS X Sierra 10.12.4 (11G63)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Nathan Brauer
Active member
Active member

Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 218
Location: New York

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Energy model not reading openings Reply with quote

Final follow-up:

Zones were on existing status, as were some walls.

GS HQ recommended putting all on new status.

Problem solved.

_________________
Nathan Brauer
Gillis Architects
AC20 **** US Full

Mac Pro (upgraded mid 2010 model)
2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
40 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC
ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024 MB
Mac OS X Sierra 10.12.4 (11G63)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Aaron Bourgoin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1157
Location: Toronto Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Energy model not reading openings Reply with quote

I don't know the whole context of your issue, but the new vs existing reno status concerns me. If the whole project is new work and left as existing, why wouldn't that work.

I have projects where "new" status is reserved for "optional" construction.

And existing projects that want to be evaluated for their baseline characteristics before intervening with new construction.

Does EcoDesigner not address these different states of space/time?

_________________
Think Like a Spec Writer
OSX 10.12.6 - Windows 10 - AC18-9019USA + AC21-4022USA Rhino5/Grasshopper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
strawbale
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 125
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 1:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Energy model not reading openings Reply with quote

The renovation feature is great in principle, but has a few major issues that make it pretty much unusable for me. Which is a shame because I work on quite few renovation projects that also require careful energy analysis.

For some reason GS implemented the renovation feature and then decided to forget about fixing it despite several key issues being pointed out to them by users.


Ive tried using both the renovation and energy analysis but gave up after realizing they were both unsuitable for intended use unfortunately.

_________________
Windows 7 Archicad 18
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Sustainable Architecture >>> Energy model not reading openings All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy