Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Forum Related Issues >>> Can not upload images
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cortasia
New member
New member

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 3:29 am    Post subject: Can not upload images Reply with quote

I am trying to upload an image to my post, though I can not upload anything. I have tried multiple file types, reducing the size, though nothing is uploading. Is there any tricks I need to be aware of..?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 5:08 am    Post subject: Re: Can not upload images Reply with quote

These are the allowed file types and sizes.

I use a screen capture program for images and save them as JPG.
This creates a file small enough to attach.
Saving as a JPG directly from a program can create a file that is much too large.

Barry.



allowed_ext_size.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  27.72 KB
 Viewed:  252 Time(s)

allowed_ext_size.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
cortasia
New member
New member

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 12:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Can not upload images Reply with quote

Cheers Barry!
I am using Screen Grab in OSX to a jpg. And it is only coming to 52kb so a very low file size. I will keep experimenting!

Barry Kelly wrote:
These are the allowed file types and sizes.

I use a screen capture program for images and save them as JPG.
This creates a file small enough to attach.
Saving as a JPG directly from a program can create a file that is much too large.

Barry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3675
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 1:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Can not upload images Reply with quote

cortasia wrote:
I am using Screen Grab in OSX to a jpg. And it is only coming to 52kb so a very low file size. I will keep experimenting!

After capturing with Grab, copy, then open Preview and use File > New from Clipboard. You can crop the image, then save as .png. I have not had a problem attaching images created this way.

You should add a Signature to your Profile (click the Profile button near the top of this page) with your ArchiCAD version and operating system (see mine for an example) for more accurate help in this forum.

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
cortasia
New member
New member

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 8:54 am    Post subject: Re: Can not upload images Reply with quote

Cheers! Though I actually tried .png before I switched to a .jpg. You could understand the frustration you can get from a simple task..Very Happy

David Maudlin wrote:
cortasia wrote:
I am using Screen Grab in OSX to a jpg. And it is only coming to 52kb so a very low file size. I will keep experimenting!

After capturing with Grab, copy, then open Preview and use File > New from Clipboard. You can crop the image, then save as .png. I have not had a problem attaching images created this way.

You should add a Signature to your Profile (click the Profile button near the top of this page) with your ArchiCAD version and operating system (see mine for an example) for more accurate help in this forum.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Ivy Chenier
Guest
Guest

Joined: 02 Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Location: california

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Can not upload images Reply with quote

i've been experiencing same issue, Thanks for this post. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address    
Stress Co.
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: N 43 31.16', W 114 18.895', Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Can not upload images Reply with quote

I find it's quicker/easier using "Command + Shift + 4" (in lieu of "Grab").

Keyboard shortcut for screen shots

_________________
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.11.5
Processor: 3.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
ArchiCAD 20 (4012 USA Full)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Forum Related Issues >>> Can not upload images All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy