Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
luisarch
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 11:52 pm    Post subject: .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? Reply with quote

HI,
is it necessary to have separate .pla, pln and .bpn files? I understand the .pla contains the library but often is it the same size as the .pln file, the .bpn is often also a similar size. that means for each version I have three files taking up three times the space. This also adds confusion since I am often transferring files to staff members so each time I have to crate a .pla, .pln., .then the .bpn. this is very tedious and takes up a lot of space on the server. also files are slow to open.

Is there a way to just work on .pla files? (I suppose .bpn are necessary).

Thank you,
regards
Luisa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
sboydturner
Active member
Active member

Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 281
Location: Adelaide

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 12:23 am    Post subject: Re: .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? Reply with quote

Luisa,
*.pln is a normal ARCHICAD file and is typically all you need to transfer, project specific libraries can be embedded within this file and you would link to other libraries, eg ARCHICAD library etc

*.pla is an archive file, which archives the project and all linked library parts into s single file. I save as pla at project milestones and when significant design changes occur that we may need to go back to.

*.bpn is a backup file, a new version of this is created every time you save and is a copy of the last saved file

All your users would typically need is the *.pln file.

Scott

_________________
Scott Boyd-Turner
HP Z230 Workstation: i7-4790, 16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quarto K2204Gb, Win 7 Pro
15" Macbook Pro 11.3, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, Geforce GT750M, MacOS 10.11.3
HP ZBook Studio 15: i7-6820 ,16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quadro M1000, Win10 Pro
AC 22 AUS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
luisarch
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:46 am    Post subject: Re: .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? Reply with quote

HI Scott,
OK thanks for clarifying. I will just send the .pln file in future. This makes life a little easier!
cheers,
Luisa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:53 am    Post subject: Re: .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? Reply with quote

sboydturner wrote:
All your users would typically need is the *.pln file.
Scott


That is true only if you all have the same libraries and any custom objects are same in the Embedded Library (which means they are included in the PLN file).
If this is not the case, and you send them the PLN file, they may have missing library parts.
Saving and sending a PLA ensures that all library parts are also included in the file so nothing will be missing from it.
By the way, a PLA gets created only if you save one Smile It is not created automatically by ARCHICAD.

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

AMD Ryzen 1700X 3.4 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM
28" (2560x1440), NVidia GTX 1060 6GB
500 GB NVMe SSD, WIN10 PRO ENG
AC13-AC21
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
luisarch
New member
New member

Joined: 16 Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 6:21 am    Post subject: Re: .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? Reply with quote

Thank you for clarifying Lazlo,
I generally manually create a .pla which takes a bit of time .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:42 pm    Post subject: Re: .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? Reply with quote

luisarch wrote:
Thank you for clarifying Lazlo,
I generally manually create a .pla which takes a bit of time .


Why would you do this? And I'm not even sure HOW you would do it reliably. Your library manager allows you to embed the used library parts with one click, and creating a .PLA file is also very quick. If this all is taking more than, say, one minute total, you probably are not doing it correctly.

_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Anton Kazmin
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 131
Location: Kiev Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:16 pm    Post subject: Re: .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? Reply with quote

Richard Morrison wrote:
Why would you do this?


This is the real question.

Why would anyone agree (or even worse — put that in contract as deliverables) to send out any *.pln, or *.pla files?

Your *.pln and *.pla files contain your personal project settings (ARCHICAD template), proprietary library parts (that might not allow redistribution) and your own custom work that you are rightfully proud of and should consider as your valuable investment in your own business (GDL).

There are numerous other ways to share your ARCHICAD drawings or model, but, I think, you should never share your *.pln and more importantly — *.pla files.

_________________
Anton Kazmin
Pushing BIM since 1994
Watching ARCHICAD grow since 1987
Raising the bar for Graphisoft Hall of Fame since v.16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> .pla, .pln, bpn files - are they all necessary? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy