Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Annotation Wishes >>> Quicker Text Editing
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
100%
 100%  [ 2 ]
Important (4)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Average (3)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Average: 5.00 points
Total Votes : 2

Author Message
Gus
Active member
Active member

Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 315
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 6:15 am    Post subject: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

Editing text could be streamlined a bit.

When we want to change text in a text box now (6 steps):
1) We click on text box to activate it
2) We right click to get the pop-up list of options
3) We select the "Select & Activate Tool" option
4) We click within the text box to get the text box editing window
5) We select the text we want to edit
6) We finally edit the text
* I realize that one step can be removed by "right-clicking" as a first step instead of a second step, however, most people use the left click first because most editing is done by left-clicking, so it's a common habit.

An improved way to change text in a text box (only 3 steps):
1) We click on text box to activate it, and when it's activated, a small window opens up in the corner or top of the screen.
2) We select the text we want to edit in that window.
3) We edit the text

And just like in the existing method:
If we want to use one of the other options for editing the text box, we can right-click and chose one of those other options.

_________________
www.michaelgustavson.com Architect NY WI IL
Madison WI
Archicad21 MEP EcoDesSTAR Win10-64-bit
EliteBook8570W Corei7-3630QM@2.40GHz
QuadroK2000m RAM32 (2)250GBSSDs
4 Monitors Internet:4Up60Down
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 7:01 am    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

1) If Quick Select option (magnet) is active just double click the text.
If Quick Select is not active then hold the space bar and double click the text.

2) Edit away.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Gus
Active member
Active member

Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 315
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 10:05 am    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

Awesome!
Thank you so much.
It's only taken me 12 years to learn this trick!

This is a perfect example of a thing that could be aided by more "hover notes." I've always felt like there should be more information (or different amounts of information based on settings) when one hovers over a task. For example, when hovering over a text there is a "hover message" that is about 2 lines of information long. It could easily say right there that if I press space bar + double click, I can jump to text editing. This type of learning while you work could be implemented throughout the program so that people pick up on tips that are pertinent to what they are doing then and there. These "tips" could be controlled in settings if needed so that there was an "advanced level" or "middle level" or "beginner level."

Anyway.
Thanks again.

_________________
www.michaelgustavson.com Architect NY WI IL
Madison WI
Archicad21 MEP EcoDesSTAR Win10-64-bit
EliteBook8570W Corei7-3630QM@2.40GHz
QuadroK2000m RAM32 (2)250GBSSDs
4 Monitors Internet:4Up60Down
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 10:17 am    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

I only just learnt the other day that when in the text editor you can triple click to select all text.
If you triple click on the text it will select just that paragraph.
But if you have multiple paragraphs then triple click in front of the text and it will select all.
Double click is similar but it will be just select a word if you double click on a word and the paragraph if in front of the text.
Single click will move the cursor if over a word and will select just one line if in front of the text.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7915
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 7:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

Barry, this triple click is not working for me the way you described.
Triple clicking always selects the paragraph for me, but never the whole text block. Only CTRL+A achieves that. I tried to click at every position imaginable in the Text Block but no luck. Could you show me where you click to achieve this?

_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 2:57 am    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

This is where I triple click.

Barry.



triple_click.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  99.75 KB
 Viewed:  134 Time(s)

triple_click.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 2:59 am    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

And triple clicking on the text.

Barry.



triple_click_2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  96.64 KB
 Viewed:  136 Time(s)

triple_click_2.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 3:03 am    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

If the text is left justified it is a little harder but can still be done.

Barry.



triple_click_3.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  105.06 KB
 Viewed:  101 Time(s)

triple_click_3.jpg



_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 7915
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:00 am    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

Thanks Barry, it is working now. Yes, my text was left justified so it was trickier to do. I needed to watch carefully the shape of the cursor changing to a right-pointing Arrow (as opposed to the normal left-pointing Arrow shape) and then triple click. Not very easy as there is only a 1-2 pixel wide area where this Arrow shape is available. But it is working now.
_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3678
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 1:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Quicker Text Editing Reply with quote

Must be a Windows thing, I cannot get a right pointing arrow on my Mac, only I-bar or left pointing arrow.

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Annotation Wishes >>> Quicker Text Editing All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy