Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
toofuerte
New member
New member

Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Location: Kaysville, Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 9:39 pm    Post subject: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

We recently started using the AC 20 and the esc key is not working to deselect or cancel actions. In other threads they talk about Photoshop or other program causing issues, or restart computer or just AC. However AC 19 works fine. The problem is intermittent every once and a while it does work.
_________________
Gerald Acton "Gary"
DEIV Architecture
Windows 10 PRO 64 bit
i7-5820K @ 3.30ghz 32GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 4GB Ram
AC 19 - AC 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger   LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 4001
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 9:51 pm    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

It works here.
If you migrated your W/E from 19 try using one of the predefined ones to check.

_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
toofuerte
New member
New member

Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Location: Kaysville, Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:11 pm    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

I tried resetting my w/e to default and still have the problem.

Thank You!

_________________
Gerald Acton "Gary"
DEIV Architecture
Windows 10 PRO 64 bit
i7-5820K @ 3.30ghz 32GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 4GB Ram
AC 19 - AC 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger   LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
clifton
New member
New member

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 6
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:25 pm    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

I did not import my work environment (I never do because of problems like this), but am still have the problem of the escape key not functioning to cancel commands or deselect objects.

It is VERY frustrating trying to work like this. I use the escape key a lot.

_________________
ArchiCAD 20US
HP Z210 Workstation
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-2600
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5977
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 2:11 am    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

The ESC shortcut is non-customisable so it shouldn't be affected by the Work Environment.

It is working fine for me but I only have the pre-release version and Windows 7.

I would be guessing there is some other program (or a Windows setting - but I have no idea what) that is blocking the ESC key.
Does it work in other programs.
Do you have an older version of Archicad - is it only 20 that has the problem?
If so then I would be guessing it is an Archicad 20 issue.
Can you start Windows in safe mode and then run Archicad to see if it works then?

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1386
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:25 am    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

I once was convinced software was giving problems with my CTRL key, even convinced it was only occurring in that software, turned out the keyboard was breaking up after 10+ years of use.

Just saying, don't rule out hardware failure Smile

If you have a spare keyboard laying about, try that for half a day.

_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
clifton
New member
New member

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 6
Location: United States

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:40 pm    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

Barry Kelly wrote:
The ESC shortcut is non-customisable so it shouldn't be affected by the Work Environment.

It is working fine for me but I only have the pre-release version and Windows 7.

I would be guessing there is some other program (or a Windows setting - but I have no idea what) that is blocking the ESC key.
Does it work in other programs.
Do you have an older version of Archicad - is it only 20 that has the problem?
If so then I would be guessing it is an Archicad 20 issue.
Can you start Windows in safe mode and then run Archicad to see if it works then?

Barry.


I replaced my keyboard about a month ago, because I do admittedly wear out my escape key and space bar. Same with my mouse, I wear out the scroll wheel and have to replace it every 4 to 6 months.

However, I just ran a test and it works in every other program, including older versions of ArchiCAD. It works to close an email in Outlook. It works to deselect in AutoCAD. It works to deselect / cancel in Archicad 18 & 19.

The problem is just ArchiCAD 20.

Thanks for your troubleshooting help, but this seems to be a problem with ArchiCAD or a compatibility problem with ArchiCAD 20 and ... something else. But not with any other program on my computer that uses the escape key.

_________________
ArchiCAD 20US
HP Z210 Workstation
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-2600
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Stephen Dolbee
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 576
Location: Sylva, North Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:30 pm    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

So far, it looks like only those on Windows 10 are affected.
_________________
AC19(9001), 27" iMac i7, 12 gb ram, ATI Radeon HD 4850 512mb, OS 10.12.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
toofuerte
New member
New member

Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Location: Kaysville, Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:40 pm    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

Hopefully we can get some help from Graphisoft with fixing the problem. I do see that the only ones who are having thee problem are those using Win 10 and AC 20.
We have tried the things suggested to try and find the issue. In an old thread people had problems with Photoshop hijacking the escape key, however I haven't had it open and have restarted several times since I had it open. the other thing is we have other people in the same office that have the same thing and they are set up similar to me, Win 10 and AC 20.

Thanks all for the help, hopefully we can get this resolved quickly.

_________________
Gerald Acton "Gary"
DEIV Architecture
Windows 10 PRO 64 bit
i7-5820K @ 3.30ghz 32GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 4GB Ram
AC 19 - AC 20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger   LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 7821
Location: Bozeman, Montana USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 10:22 pm    Post subject: Re: ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 Reply with quote

Not a solution... but does shift-Esc work for you as a temporary workaround?
_________________
AC 21 US, Adobe CS 6, Piranesi 6, Final Cut Pro X, etc.
8 Core 2.8 Mac Pro/12GB RAM, SSD, ATI 5770/1GB, 27" LED Cinema/Dell U2415: OS 10.11.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> ESCAPE "ESC" KEY NOT WORKING IN AC 20 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy