Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Gus
Active member
Active member

Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 5:57 pm    Post subject: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

I understand the benefits of having a template. I have tried over the last 14 years to maintain templates to work with on each new project. However, I keep having the same frustration:
If working on multiple projects at one time as I always do, how does one improve a template and work environment as one goes?
It seems to me that the only way one can do this is to have a blank template open at all times, and every time you think of something that needs to be on the template, you add that thing both to the project you are working on and also to the template so you can use that additional improvement on the next project.
This seems odd, keeping two projects open at once and adding improvements to both the current project and the template every time you think of something new.
Does anyone else have these difficulties?

_________________
www.michaelgustavson.com Architect NY WI IL
Madison WI
Archicad21 MEP EcoDesSTAR Win10-64-bit
EliteBook8570W Corei7-3630QM@2.40GHz
QuadroK2000m RAM32 (2)250GBSSDs
4 Monitors Internet:4Up60Down
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 3986
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:56 pm    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

For me its not odd it is just standard procedure.
_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5840
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 2:17 am    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

The other way is to work on your job and make any improvements you need (as you are doing now).
Then when you need a new template for a new job you simply copy the latest job you were working on and delete all of the model and annotation (leave what you think you might be able to reuse in the next job).

The problem with this is you may need to do things in the file specific for that job only which is why I think it is best to maintain a separate template and modify that as needed.
That way you can add to the template just what you really need - which after 14 years of tinkering shouldn't be an awful lot?.
You shouldn't need the template open all the time.


Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Dennis Lee
Active member
Active member

Joined: 07 May 2006
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:23 pm    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

I've tried to do just that, have two files open all the time and update as I think of something new or a new layer combo or layer is needed for a project. However, as things get busy and when you have 4 to 5 projects going on at the same time, it just gets out of hand. I've also purchased multiple templates from well known template gurus here and tried to customize them to my office standards many times in the past. When it starts to really become too much of a task for me is when there is a new version of AC with all the new functions such as the Properties and the Graphic Overrides.

Without having a dedicated (or at least a part time) BIM manager in house, I simply don't have the time to keep a nice template going and upgrading all the time. I may change my mind again, but for now, I am going to take one of the guru's templates, make minimal adjustments each time with the new version, and just use it as is.

_________________
ArchiCAD 19 USA

Intel Core i7-4790 32GB Windows 10 x64
Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti

Since ArchiCAD 9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Gus
Active member
Active member

Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:33 pm    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

Denis,
It sounds like we are on the same page. I think I have felt best about templates when I just use the generic ArchiCAD template. It feels like that template is "clean," and up to date.

Every time a new version of ArchiCAD comes out, I feel like I need to re-make my template so I don't miss anything from the new version.

I do wish that the generic ArchiCAD template was better. It would be really great if Graphisoft would get some working ArchiCAD users in the field and from several countries (or states even) to help them create their generic templates every year.

I also wish there was a program or checklist we could use every time a new version of ArchiCAD came out, that asked us all the pertinent questions about how we want to customize our template for that new version.

_________________
www.michaelgustavson.com Architect NY WI IL
Madison WI
Archicad21 MEP EcoDesSTAR Win10-64-bit
EliteBook8570W Corei7-3630QM@2.40GHz
QuadroK2000m RAM32 (2)250GBSSDs
4 Monitors Internet:4Up60Down
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:08 pm    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

I have a folder with .XML files and an .AAT file. Whenever I make significant changes, maybe to keyboard shortcuts or layer sets, I just send these immediately, using "export" (in the case of schedules, work environment, or favorites) or Attribute Manager. So this folder always has the latest and greatest. Then, on a regular basis, just import all these into your template plan, which will then also have your latest and greatest. That way, you don't have to keep a separate template file open at all times.

Also, when the next version comes out, you can choose to overwrite or append to a clean new version. Generally, just importing old shortcuts into the work environment does everything I need there, with some minor adjustments to other things that are pretty fast, and I'm good to go with the new Work Environment.

_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 3986
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:16 pm    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

I use Richard's procedure also. Though he forgot the Folder with all the updated Favorites.


Screen Shot 2016-09-03 at 12.15.43 PM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  119.29 KB
 Viewed:  120 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2016-09-03 at 12.15.43 PM.png



_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
JoWplan
New member
New member

Joined: 07 Sep 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:41 am    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

Yes, I am a small office as well and upgrading, new templates and tech issues stop me drawing. It works well when you have/take the time to keep on top of it.
I really hate upgrading despite the benefits. I loose so much time.

_________________
Window 10 Pro Inteli7-4790 CPU@3.60gHz
Ram 16GB 64 bit OS
Nvidia M2000 Quadro Video Card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Jeff Kogut
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 12 Feb 2010
Posts: 102
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:26 pm    Post subject: Re: REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME Reply with quote

The previous ArchiCAD manager, and now me, basically use the method of 2 sessions open. But it's not really that much time once things are set up. And I end up making notes of things to update and try to get them in the template .pln file every week or so.

The only full rebuild of our template was 17 to 18 since there were so many changes and it seemed that legacy issues were catching up. (Our office started at release 12.)

Here's some insight in to our setup in my post here:
http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=51465

_________________
AC19-21 | Win10 Pro @ home || iMac 3.5ghz i5 | Sierra 10.12 @ work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> REFINING TEMPLATES AND WORK ENVIRONMENTS OVER TIME All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy