Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Products >>> Tracking time in Archicad Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DGSketcher
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 478
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

Gerald Hoffman wrote:
For Mac guys I use a little program (Freeware) called Active Timer. You have to remember to start it of course but it keeps track of time you spend in all the programs you have open until you stop it. I then just to a journal entry each day to each job to keep totals.

Cheers,


Thanks for the suggestion Gerald. I just installed the fully functioning demo. Looks like it could be a new friend of my accountant Wink On the other hand I'll need to stop hanging round this forum so much Laughing

_________________
Apple iMac MacOS Sierra / AC21UKI (most recent build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Gerald Hoffman
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 474
Location: Abbotsford BC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 5:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

DGSketcher wrote:

Thanks for the suggestion Gerald. I just installed the fully functioning demo. Looks like it could be a new friend of my accountant Wink On the other hand I'll need to stop hanging round this forum so much Laughing


Your welcome. What is nice about this one is that it seems to only add time to each program that is running while you actually have that program window open. Any background programs stop adding time. The timer also stops even when a program window is open and you stop working, which means you don't have to remember to pause it if you get a phone call or decide to get a coffee.

_________________
Gerald

"The simplification of anything is always sensational" GKC

(AC 21-4022) CadImage Suite
MacBook Pro OS X 10.12.3 - 2.5 Ghz i7, 16 GB RAM + 27" Apple Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
JoWplan
New member
New member

Joined: 07 Sep 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:38 am    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

I have purchased and have been using RescueTime for a long time now. I am very satisfied with it.

Are you using the full version or the cheapy one?

_________________
Window 10 Pro Inteli7-4790 CPU@3.60gHz
Ram 16GB 64 bit OS
Nvidia M2000 Quadro Video Card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
laszlonagy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 8006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 12:01 am    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

I am using the paid version that has full functionality.
_________________

Laszlo Nagy, Moderator, Site Admin
https://twitter.com/laszlonagy

i7-2630QM 16 GB RAM
17.3" (1920x1080), NVidia GTX 460M
SSD+HDD, Win10-64 ENG
AC13-AC21 (64-bit, latest build)
Loving ARCHICAD since 1995
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Stress Co.
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 1496
Location: N 43º 31.16', W 114º 18.895', Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 6:06 am    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

I demoed the free version of this one:
Hours Time Tracker

It doesn't keep track of software running on your computer,
but it does work on iPhones & desktops (thru browser).
Data is synced in the cloud. Nice to be able to turn a timer on/off
when out of the office (site visits, meetings, etc.).
User friendly.

Only problem (for me) is it doesn't share with Quickbooks.
Like Karl... I use Intuit's "My Time" (which has it's own quirks Rolling Eyes ).

_________________
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.11.5
Processor: 3.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
ArchiCAD 21 (4022 USA Full)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
assieh
New member
New member

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Location: Mill Valley

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

Can’t seem to find Active timer on google search would you have a link to a download site? Thank you
_________________
Apple MAC booK Pro MacOS Sierra / AC20UKI (most recent build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
pitrak
New member
New member

Joined: 22 Sep 2015
Posts: 29
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

laszlonagy wrote:
I have purchased and have been using RescueTime for a long time now. I am very satisfied with it.
Although it does not record which project is opened in ARCHICAD, it will report how much time you spent in each application in each hour. It would be great if it tracked project file names as well, but this solution is still very helpful to me.


Hi,
bit of an older post, but could still be of use. While rescuetime is great for analysing on what sort of activity all your valuable time was spent, I don't like it for time tracking for specific projects.
Manictime (http://www.manictime.com/) is a lot better for that. And it tracks the project name in AC as well, so you can easily see how much time you spent on each project. I have a paid version with greater functionality.

Rescuetime does have an android app that also allows you to track phone calls, that's the only feature I'm missing in manictime..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:51 pm    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

Patrick,
I guess I have a request for a reciprocal review. Wink

I just took a look at ManicTime. It's very impressive; quite easy to use and at a good price. However, my one concern is that it seems to take a small screen capture of every website you visit and compiles a massive amount of computer usage data. I'm wondering what size of tracking file gets created after, say, a year's worth of use?

_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

Richard Morrison wrote:

I'm wondering what size of tracking file gets created after, say, a year's worth of use?
Sorry, just found the answer in the knowledgebase. Surprisingly small file!

Have you used this as a single user in multiple locations? Without a network server, I'm wondering if Dropbox would work.

_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
pitrak
New member
New member

Joined: 22 Sep 2015
Posts: 29
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Tracking time in Archicad Reply with quote

I never asked myself, so it's the first time I checked. I have a backup of 172MB since August 2014..
You can also have it take screenshots at regular intervals, that takes a lot more storage of course. But there you can determine the amount of days before deletion or the maximum storage.

Manictime is a very fast way to see where your computer hours went. Could not recommend it enough! I have the paid version just to be able to manually select blocks of time to tag to certain projects. It has saved me a ton of billable time and headaches. If you don't register your time right away, this will be a big help.

I register my hours in another app - Paymo, which is equally brilliant. Paymo has its own activity log, but just like in Rescuetime, I find it hard to visually discern what time blocks were spent in what project.
A Zapier or IFTTT connection between manictime and paymo would come in handy, but entering time in paymo is so fast it's not a big problem. Also, manictime gives yo uan overview of the time spent on a project per day, so in Paymo I put some time block together to have a cleaner overview of the day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Products >>> Tracking time in Archicad All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy