Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Wishes >>> Roof Structures - Roof Planes Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
25%
 25%  [ 2 ]
Important (4)
12%
 12%  [ 1 ]
Average (3)
12%
 12%  [ 1 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
50%
 50%  [ 4 ]
Average: 2.62 points
Total Votes : 8

Author Message
xacto
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 52
Location: Fresno ca

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:08 pm    Post subject: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

There seems to be several posts about this.
The claim in "Made by Architects for Architects"
Well, the Roof planes won't allow the fascia boards to be changed!!
What were this Architects thinking?

Ok! Fix it!! I have never seen a roof system with the same fascia width as the rafters! Very seldom.

All elevations look so bad on ArchiCAD is such a disappointment!

No. I will not put a "make up" fill over it, too much work!

I Am modeling homes for a builder, yes, models, not just lines.

Thanks.
Jorge.

_________________
Jorge Araya
Archicad 20 Solo
iMac MacOS Sierra
2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:15 am    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

Can you show an image of what you mean?

Roof planes don't have a fascia board - they have an edge that will be the thickness of the roof plane - the angle and surface material for this edge is adjustable.
The size of this edge can not be adjusted unless you change the roof thickness.

The best way to have an accurate detailed facia board may be to model it with a beam?
Will need to see an image of what you are trying to achieve.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1196
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:17 am    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

I ussually model the whole gutter assembly of soffit, fascia, gutter (unless it is one of those cheap PVC deals, can make those with the library parts) etc with a complex profile wall (they project with a cover fill, beams do not). Can just stretch it as needed.

Bargeboards are easily modeled with single plane roofs.

_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
xacto
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 52
Location: Fresno ca

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

It's amazing to read these comments and to even see someone selecting "not needed" on the poll.

We are trying to use ArchiCAD for residential homes in California, we have a wide array of fascia boards and treatments.

Can you imagine like someone here said "modeling" each part of a fascia board on a home?!!! Really?!!!

This should be a setting in the specifications box, add fascia boards, this depth, this height, this color, this shape, etc. and it gets built into the roof planes.

People, if we don't push, ask, for changes to improve, they won't happen!!

Sitting here saying, you can model those using this or that does not help a bit.

I know that already, and I am not asking for workarounds, that's why I post here in the suggestions and not in the other forums.

_________________
Jorge Araya
Archicad 20 Solo
iMac MacOS Sierra
2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Gerald Hoffman
Active member
Active member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 472
Location: Abbotsford BC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

I also work in residential design and can think of lots of instances where a predefined fascia/soffit would not work on a given roof plane. I often have fairly complex roof configurations and when there are multiple roof pitches, hips transitioning to gables etc., the soffits can change in a single roof plane.

There are programs out there that try to do what you want, SoftPlan, Chief Architect, Vectorworks ( I think ) and probably others. I used to used Softplan and one of the main reasons I moved to ArchiCad was that it wasn't flexible enough.

Perhaps for simple homes the programming could be workable but in the one off customs that I work on it is not. ( IMHO ) I prefer to do the extra modelling and have the flexibility.

If you have some regularly occurring details of roof edge configurations you can like others have suggested make complex profiles of these and then they are ready to use and take very little work to add around the edge of your roofs.

I do wish that ArchiCad roofs had composites that could be adjusted in length so that you could pull the sheathing beyond the framing element but that is another wish.

Cheers,

_________________
Gerald

"The simplification of anything is always sensational" GKC

(AC 18-9019) USA Cigraph ArchiSuite, CadImage Suite (AC 19-7006) (AC 20-6005) CadImage Suite
MacBook Pro OS X 10.12.3 - 2.5 Ghz i7, 16 GB RAM + 27" Apple Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
xacto
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 52
Location: Fresno ca

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 6:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

Modeling eaves, rakes, returns, turrets, etc. is not something we should be expecting to do individually.

Changes are inherent to any design and or project, making this individual changes can lead to mistakes during the process (that's why we don't use AutoCAD)

Changing the Roof plane specifications "individually" would make more sense, because we can select where the changes are needed and see them populate everywhere there are views referenced to that change.

Flexibility but consistency.

_________________
Jorge Araya
Archicad 20 Solo
iMac MacOS Sierra
2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
DGSketcher
Active member
Active member

Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 448
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 7:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

If you have a consistent detail then you could always look into programming it in GDL to speed up production. If nothing else it might help you understand the complexities of programming what you see as a simple detail. Once you've mastered that then you could consider all the variants across the planet and then you might understand why GS aren't wasting resources on such features.
_________________
Apple iMac MacOS Sierra / AC21UKI (most recent build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
xacto
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 52
Location: Fresno ca

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 12:41 am    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

That is exactly right!

That is why we took the dive and paid the big bucks for ArchiCAD

So that someone else does the programming, while we sit down and get our jobs done.

_________________
Jorge Araya
Archicad 20 Solo
iMac MacOS Sierra
2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:42 am    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

You might look into Cadimage Coverings. With this add-on you can adjust fascias, barges, soffits, gutters, and downspouts individually and parametrically at a pretty reasonable cost. Plus do a whole lot more, besides.
_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5654
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 6:32 am    Post subject: Re: Roof Structures - Roof Planes Reply with quote

The roof accessories add-on will allow you to automate objects added to the edges and surface of the roof planes.
As Richard suggested Cadimage provide a good add-on.
I am sure there are others out there as well.

Rather than relying on a third party add-on I have created my own objects that I can place and manipulate.
Or complex profile beams and walls and possibly even the profiler add-on (free) for horizontal fascias and gutters.

While not connected to the roof (they won't adjust automatically when you adjust the roof) they are relatively easy to manipulate.
One of my upcoming tasks it to sit down and make objects that will use the roof accessory add-on.
The add-on id free it is just the objects that work with it that you may have to pay for (unless you are good at GDL programming and can make your own).

Just for the record I haven't voted yet because if I did I think it would be on the not so important side of things as it really isn't important to me and I didn't want to affect the results.

I can't see how it would be possible to change the flat edge of a roof into a profiles fascia, gutter, barge etc., with different materials without using and add-on to attach an object that will adjust as you change the roof. The object then gives you the control of the profile and materials.

We could possibly have more options to curve or chamfer the edges rather than just adjust the angle but I think anything beyond a simple profile would be next to impossible.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Construction Wishes >>> Roof Structures - Roof Planes All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy