Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Export Archicad > 3DS Max - Message intended to Graphisoft
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Thierry PICHON
New member
New member

Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 12:21 am    Post subject: Export Archicad > 3DS Max - Message intended to Graphisof Reply with quote

The export from Archicad (mac osx) to 3DS MAX is pitiful!

Export in .3ds format:
Textures:
- name reduced to 8 characters
- exported to bmp (24 bits, not recognized by Max> 32 bits)
- UV mapping not conforming to Archicad mapping

Materials :
- name reduced to 16 characters
- merging of materials if the first 16 characters are identical
  (Example: "material wood 2564A" and "material wood 2564B", result: a unique material "material wood 25")
- merging of materials that have exactly the same parameters on Archicad (example duplicated materials)
.....

Export in .obj format:
- loss of all material and texture informations
(The .mtl file is useless)

Since when did Graphisoft no longer update the export in .3ds?
I use Archicad 17, I do not know if export works better on Archicad 20.
It's still more than twenty years since file names are no longer limited to 8 characters on a PC!

Autodesk (Revit, Autocad) is a competitor for Graphisoft. You prefer to favor export to Cinema 4D. But in this way, you let YOUR USERS of Archicad also using 3DS Max, in the [censored]!

Congratulations Graphisoft!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
stefan
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 1456
Location: A castle in Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 11:07 am    Post subject: Re: Export Archicad > 3DS Max - Message intended to Graph Reply with quote

FWIW, the 3DS format is an old binary format for 3D Studio for MS DOS (!).
The limitations you explain are inherent with the file format (which uses short names and DOS-limitations). Meshes are also limited to 65.000 vertices (16-bit indexing).

The MAX file format is only relevant for 3DS Max and is not usable in other software (you cannot read nor write it). Software that claims to do so, actually uses 3DS Max installed on your machine to do the conversion (e.g. Polytrans).

The better way to get ARCHICAD models into 3DS Max would be to have full FBX support in ARCHICAD.

As an alternative, you could use Wavefront OBJ or the Collada DAE files as used with the Google Earth export.

_________________
--- stefan boeykens --- architect-engineer-musician ---
ARCHICAD21/Revit2017/SketchUp2017/Cinema4D18/Rhino5/Unity5
rMBPTB15:i7Quad2.7Ghz+16GB+Radeon455/Sierra+Win10

ArchiCAD Since 6.o - http://bit.ly/17u87df
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger  Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Thierry PICHON
New member
New member

Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 6:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Export Archicad > 3DS Max - Message intended to Graph Reply with quote

Thanks for your contribution Stefan.

stefan wrote:
FWIW, the 3DS format is an old binary format for 3D Studio for MS DOS (!).
The limitations you explain are inherent with the file format (which uses short names and DOS-limitations). Meshes are also limited to 65.000 vertices (16-bit indexing).

Effectively, the 8 and 16 characters limitations are inherent with the file format. 3DS max export in .3ds with textures files jpg > jpg. Why Archicad exports with jpg > bmp ? And theses bmp files are not recognized by 3DS max !

I dropped the .3ds export. I use the .obj. I have found how to use the .mtl file (exported with .obj file, as materials description). In the .obj file (open as text file), the second line corresponds to the .mtl file path. Simply modify it.

Yes we can wait for FBX export solution, or perhaps, keep on dream...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
KatalinBorszeki
Graphisoft

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 349
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Export Archicad > 3DS Max - Message intended to Graph Reply with quote

Hi All,
The basics of how we export 3ds files haven’t changed since AC17. There are 4 ways to export:
1. ARCHICAD objects (native output):
2. Element types – Surfaces
3. Layers – Surfaces
4. Surfaces

There is however feature, introduced in AC19. In case the model is far enough from origin a “Move exported elements close to project origin” checkbox appears in the dialog.

3D Studio works with names up to 10 characters.
For names generated by ARCHICAD the naming convention is the following:
Chars 1 to 7: represent the unique ID or clipped layer/surface name.
Chars 8 to 9: are used for a distinctive number to avoid identical names generated by clipping. Up to 100 variations of the same name are allowed this way.
Char 10: is used for slicing information. 3D Studio can handle up to 65,536 polygons by object. If an object has multiple polygons, ARCHICAD will split the object into several objects and put the segment number into Char 10.
Hopefully this clears some of your questions,

_________________
Katalin Borszeki
Implementation Specialist
GRAPHISOFT

http://helpcenter.graphisoft.com - the ArchiCAD knowledge base
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
daninet
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Location: Dubai

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Export Archicad > 3DS Max - Message intended to Graph Reply with quote

Autodesk has a free FBX converter that is working with obj, 3ds, dae

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=22694909

Don't use 3ds as export format, as stefan said you have the option for obj or free plugin also available for collada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Data Exchange and Information Sharing >>> Export Archicad > 3DS Max - Message intended to Graphisoft All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy