Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Schedules >>> Is there a way of accessing another GDL object's parameter?
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Sam Karli
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 83
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 10:35 pm    Post subject: Is there a way of accessing another GDL object's parameter? Reply with quote

The core problem is that I'm thinking of objects detecting if they are connected to each other.
For example there are two windows in a wall and if one of them is snapped besides the other a connecting profile is shown.
Their coords can be put to parameters and it can be queried by another GDL object.

But ArchiCAD obviously inhibits such a query.

-the SQL is useless (what is it for?)
-the Property GDL add-on is only able to query keys, not params or any data of any object
-the request is available for only labels and other objects that can be associated to an element.

Is there a workaround?

_________________
ArchiCAD 2016 SE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5833
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:53 am    Post subject: Re: Is there a way of accessing another GDL object's paramet Reply with quote

The objects can't talk to each other directly.
The only way I know to do it is to save data from one object to an external text file and then read that data into the other object.
You would somehow have to tell each object to write and read from the same file, make sure that one window writes and the other only reads and also make sure that if you have other pairs that they use a different text file or the same one but with unique data.
Plus I am not sure if it would be a live connection - change one window and you may need to re-build and regenerate to update the other.

It is not impossible but it will get very messy.

Possibly creating an add-on may be able to help but that is not something I know much about.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Sam Karli
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 83
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Is there a way of accessing another GDL object's paramet Reply with quote

Many thanks.
_________________
ArchiCAD 2016 SE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Schedules >>> Is there a way of accessing another GDL object's parameter? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy