Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Geocar123
Guest
Guest

Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Naples

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:20 pm    Post subject: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

Have some questions/issues with converting from Archicad 20 to 21.
What is the best way to transfer my working template/favorites from 20 to 21.
When I import the template to 21 and open the file, there some icons/items missing, i.e. the stair tool doesn't show up. when I open a file with the standard built in 21 template all the icons show up. Not sure if this is an issue anyone else is having?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5840
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:11 am    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

The old stair tool from 20 and before is no more.
There is a new stair tool and railing tool.
You will have to add them to your tool bar and/or tool palette (and menus)by editing your Work Environment settings if you are not using the standard 21 work environments - i.e. you have your own custom Work Environment.

Also you must make sure that you load the 21 Graphisoft library as the stair and railing tools will not work properly without this library (or at least the macros part of it) loaded.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Dave Jochum
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 562
Location: Novato, CA USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 6:00 am    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

It would be helpful if Graphisoft identified all the new tools, menu items, etc. in a simple list for each annual release so we could easily update our Work Environment. It's not that tough for us to figure out, but it would be very easy for them to provide.
_________________
Dave Jochum
J o c h u m A R C H I T E C T S
www.jochumarchitects.com
MBP 15" Retina+30" 2nd monitor•16GB•SSD•OS X 10.12.6•AC 21 (latest build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
David Maudlin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 3705
Location: Washington, D.C.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

Dave:

It is sort of there: Work Environment > Command Layout Schemes > Toolbars and Menus > List: All new commands in alphabetic order.

David

_________________
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC21 USA+MEP • iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 | 24 gb ram • MacBook Pro 2.5GHz | 16 gb ram • OSX10.10.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Dave Jochum
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 562
Location: Novato, CA USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

David Maudlin wrote:
Dave:

It is sort of there: Work Environment > Command Layout Schemes > Toolbars and Menus > List: All new commands in alphabetic order.

David


Excellent--thanks, David. I've never noticed that. Right in the WE ready for revision. Much better than a list.

_________________
Dave Jochum
J o c h u m A R C H I T E C T S
www.jochumarchitects.com
MBP 15" Retina+30" 2nd monitor•16GB•SSD•OS X 10.12.6•AC 21 (latest build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
allanp
New member
New member

Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 34
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 12:26 am    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

Hi,
You may also want to check the short cut keys

Work Environment > Shortcut Schemes > Keyboard Shortcuts> List: All new commands in alphabetic order.
same list, but in the "Keyboard Shortcut Preview" at the bottom, with "Show Shortcut List in Browser"

I copy that from the browser into an excel spread sheet to identify any changes or added shortcut keys that may affect our company standards.

P.S.

I always build a new work environment in the new version of Archicad, adding the features that are standard to our workflow.
It is hard to identify the changes that might effect new tool usage until the software has been used for a while in the company,
so I always start from the Graphisoft base, and build a company specific tool bar that allows us to do our work faster, rather than trying to add in all the new features to an existing work environment.
also, changing the work environment too much makes it hard for someone to look something up in the Archicad Reference Guide, or to ask question online because i may not know about every feature that was available.
(I know the manual is now only 3380 pages now, but I may not get a chance to read it all before releasing a new template, lol)

_________________
____________
Allan P.
Archicad 4.55 to 21
GDL from Blocks to Nurbs
Apple from Mac Classic to iMac
Windows from 3.11 to Windows 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Dave Jochum
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 562
Location: Novato, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

allanp wrote:
Hi,
You may also want to check the short cut keys

Work Environment > Shortcut Schemes > Keyboard Shortcuts> List: All new commands in alphabetic order.
same list, but in the "Keyboard Shortcut Preview" at the bottom, with "Show Shortcut List in Browser"

I copy that from the browser into an excel spread sheet to identify any changes or added shortcut keys that may affect our company standards.

P.S.

I always build a new work environment in the new version of Archicad, adding the features that are standard to our workflow.
It is hard to identify the changes that might effect new tool usage until the software has been used for a while in the company,
so I always start from the Graphisoft base, and build a company specific tool bar that allows us to do our work faster, rather than trying to add in all the new features to an existing work environment.
also, changing the work environment too much makes it hard for someone to look something up in the Archicad Reference Guide, or to ask question online because i may not know about every feature that was available.
(I know the manual is now only 3380 pages now, but I may not get a chance to read it all before releasing a new template, lol)


Yes, I do the same--not just with the WE, but our entire project template. It's tedious. Just looking for a simpler, less time consuming solution.

_________________
Dave Jochum
J o c h u m A R C H I T E C T S
www.jochumarchitects.com
MBP 15" Retina+30" 2nd monitor•16GB•SSD•OS X 10.12.6•AC 21 (latest build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

Dave Jochum wrote:

Yes, I do the same--not just with the WE, but our entire project template. It's tedious. Just looking for a simpler, less time consuming solution.

1. Open your AC20 template in AC21.
2. Overwrite the AC20 Tool Schemes and Command Layout Schemes with the new AC21 Tool Schemes and Command Layout Schemes.
3. Modify WE as desired. Done.

_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Dave Jochum
Veteran member
Veteran member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 562
Location: Novato, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

Richard Morrison wrote:
Dave Jochum wrote:

Yes, I do the same--not just with the WE, but our entire project template. It's tedious. Just looking for a simpler, less time consuming solution.

1. Open your AC20 template in AC21.
2. Overwrite the AC20 Tool Schemes and Command Layout Schemes with the new AC21 Tool Schemes and Command Layout Schemes.
3. Modify WE as desired. Done.


Yes, Richard, correct. My "tedious" comment really related to the entire template revision process from version to version, of which WE update is a small part--and one of the simplest at that.

_________________
Dave Jochum
J o c h u m A R C H I T E C T S
www.jochumarchitects.com
MBP 15" Retina+30" 2nd monitor•16GB•SSD•OS X 10.12.6•AC 21 (latest build)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Richard Morrison
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1226
Location: SF Bay Area, CA - USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 8:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue Reply with quote

Dave,
So, unless you are trying to recreate the whole template from scratch (and why would you do that?), what are you finding to be so tedious?

_________________
Richard
--------------------------
Richard Morrison, Architect-Interior Designer
"The Kitchen Architect"
www.richardmorrison.com
AC21 (since AC6.0), Win10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> BIM Managers >>> Archicad 21 Template Conversion Issue All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy