Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
daninet
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Location: Dubai

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:26 pm    Post subject: ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale Reply with quote

Hey All,

There was a similar topic, but it was dated back when 20 was not out yet.

I want to tell how disappointed I am with the scalability of the new interface.
I'm not talking about the icons, I'm talking about everything else around it. Seems like there were no efforts in setting it up for modern screens other than changing the icon set.

With the 4k displays everyone is using some sort of DPI scale as things can get really small. Even with 1080p resolution people tend to use 125% scale then use the DPI fix utility under windows 10 to avoid blurry lines.
But Creators Update is here, we have a lot of new feature!

I think it is not a new phenomenon that windows notebooks are also getting 4k display not just macbooks.
The downside is you have to use 200-300% scale in the system and this is handled by archicad pretty bad. VERY BAD!

There is 3 option to choose but two is the same:
1. Blurry text interface with super tiny mouse (System default)
2. Glitchy interface with super small element (Application)
3. Proper interface with screwed up working area (System enhanced)

Do anyone have a working setting/solution on this?
Why we can't have manually scalable interface like Adobe products?
Why the work area not scaling with the rest of the screen?

It is a pain to use it like this without external screen. Or I can't see the mouse, or the interface falls apart.
My only solution to use archicad right now is set the resolution to 1920x1080, change the dpi scale settings, log out, log in, use archicad, then put everything back as not native resolution looks like crap.
Unacceptable!

Screen shots are on below links as forum supports only up-to 1600px. Check it with fit-to screen on a notebook to see what I can see.

20 and 21 are the same.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B1SVuqYkkUVbWlFJdWo2RXhjWWs?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
sboydturner
Active member
Active member

Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Location: Adelaide

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:22 am    Post subject: Re: ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale Reply with quote

This is an operating system problem, no issues on MacOS but problematic on Windows 10
_________________
Scott Boyd-Turner
HP Z230 Workstation: i7-4790, 16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quarto K2204Gb, Win 7 Pro
15" Macbook Pro 11.3, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, Geforce GT750M, MacOS 10.11.3
HP ZBook Studio 15: i7-6820 ,16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quadro M1000, Win10 Pro
AC 22 AUS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
daninet
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Location: Dubai

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:47 am    Post subject: Re: ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale Reply with quote

I don't agree. Autodesk and all Adobe software is OK. Adobe all separately scalable, I can have different UI scale then the system!
There is problem with other software but non of them have updated UI.

Yes, Win10 has changed but change did not happen lately. It was there before they have started the AC20 UI upgrade.

Let's say it is some stupidity with the OS. Windows is Archicad's most popular platform, ignoring this is a huge mistake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
sboydturner
Active member
Active member

Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Location: Adelaide

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:23 am    Post subject: Re: ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale Reply with quote

I wouldn't say Autodesk software all ok AutoCAD interface elements sizes are all over the place on my screen, cannot read many dialogs / pallets as text too large to fit within area defined for element whilst others are tiny (ACAD 2018).

Scaling of applications and interface elements should be handled by the OS not by application directly, macOS can use vector graphics for icons dialogs etc which is why scaling for different UI scales is handled well (ArchCAD for MacOS uses svg elements which is why there are no issues on Mac). What resolutions should icon and dialog sets be created for? (My laptop 286ppi, desktop 185ppi, home desktop 96ppi) Maybe 96ppi, 110ppi, 137ppi, 163ppi, 185ppi, 205ppi, 286ppi to cover the most popular monitor sizes today - just seems like a huge waste of resources (time & disc space) plus increased risk of QA issues for something that should be done by the OS

Scott

_________________
Scott Boyd-Turner
HP Z230 Workstation: i7-4790, 16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quarto K2204Gb, Win 7 Pro
15" Macbook Pro 11.3, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, Geforce GT750M, MacOS 10.11.3
HP ZBook Studio 15: i7-6820 ,16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quadro M1000, Win10 Pro
AC 22 AUS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
daninet
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Location: Dubai

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:41 pm    Post subject: Re: ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale Reply with quote

Problem is not with icons. I know AC20 renders the icon at the opening of the software under windows so it is sharp. It doesn't even need huge amount of resource.

Problem is that interface falls apart when you scale DPI settings (or you can go with small mouse+blurry font). This is something common anyone can do. Windows allows you to scale from 0-500% and this range should be covered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
dkovacs
Graphisoft

Joined: 04 Oct 2016
Posts: 61
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:02 pm    Post subject: Re: ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale Reply with quote

Hello daninet,

Out of the 3 options you mention in your original post, the first one is the one we suggest/support (the other two are not recommended). It indeed makes the whole interface look a little blurry, but that's the nature of the upscaling of non-4K-compliant applications.

This is of course just a temporary measure not a final solution, until we introduce full High Resolution support to the Windows version as well. Unfortunately, it is much harder to make that happen on Windows than it is on macOS (nevertheless, we are working on it).

You also mention that in this mode the cursor is unnaturally small. This is because of an issue that surfaced with the Creator's Update. There's a thread about this small cursor issue, you can find out more about it, along with the solution there:

http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=272263

I hope that you can resolve the small cursor issue, and keep working on!

_________________
Daniel Alexander Kovacs
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

For Troubleshooting and useful Tips & Tricks visit http://helpcenter.graphisoft.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
daninet
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Location: Dubai

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:22 am    Post subject: Re: ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale Reply with quote

Thanks for the support. Will test the fix today.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Other Problems >>> ARCHICAD vs. 4k screen and DPI scale All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy