Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> a Fill that Behaves like a Line
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Aaron Bourgoin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1155
Location: Toronto Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:59 pm    Post subject: a Fill that Behaves like a Line Reply with quote

I am looking to find an object fill motif that will simulate the behaviour of a line laid over a wall. I would like to create a Graphic Override to create Compliance Plans that show the fire Ratings of Assemblies. Weíve been drawing polylines over the walls to show their different required Fire Resistance Ratings, but this requires an additional layer and another set of graphic elements to manage.

I canít use colour alone because our drawings are printed in Greyscale.

Attached is an illustration of what Iím trying to achieve.

Is it possible to create a fill motif that does this?



Screen Shot 2017-10-19 at 4.56.05 PM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  36.26 KB
 Viewed:  23 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2017-10-19 at 4.56.05 PM.png



_________________
Think Like a Spec Writer
OSX 10.12.6 - Windows 10 - AC18-9019USA + AC21-4022USA Rhino5/Grasshopper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Steve Jepson
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 2939
Location: Salem, Oregon

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:44 pm    Post subject: Re: a Fill that Behaves like a Line Reply with quote

I need something like this too. Sometimes I can get buy with a wall .001" tall. and a transparent background with a fill pattern. However, I can't always draw the kind of wide line I would like to make this way.

I have even made some special surfaces for the wall but I still don't have the solution I would like.

_________________

ArchiCAD 21 4022-1.2 USA FULL
Windows 10 Pro 64x
Dell 7720 (Dellilah) 64 GB 2400MHz ECC
Xeon E3-1535M v6, 4.20GHz
(2) 1TB M.2 PCIe Class 50 SSD's
17.3" UHD IPS (3840x2160)
Nvidia Quadro P5000 16GB GDDR5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5827
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:52 am    Post subject: Re: a Fill that Behaves like a Line Reply with quote

Just thinking out loud here - I haven't tried this.

If your composite wall (won't work for simple walls) had a skin separator line in the centre then you could apply a symbolic line for the pattern you want to that separator line.
The question is can you then set up a graphic override to change just that centre skin separator?

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
sboydturner
Active member
Active member

Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 281
Location: Adelaide

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:47 am    Post subject: Re: a Fill that Behaves like a Line Reply with quote

I have had previously had success using the same method as Barry suggested but did not have a graphic override as I am happy for the fire rating to show on all plans

Scott

_________________
Scott Boyd-Turner
HP Z230 Workstation: i7-4790, 16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quarto K2204Gb, Win 7 Pro
15" Macbook Pro 11.3, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, Geforce GT750M, MacOS 10.11.3
HP ZBook Studio 15: i7-6820 ,16Gb, 256Gb SSD, Quadro M1000, Win10 Pro
AC 22 AUS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Aaron Bourgoin
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1155
Location: Toronto Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:10 pm    Post subject: Re: a Fill that Behaves like a Line Reply with quote

I'm happy and grateful for the responses so far, but most of the walls that are rated have either a stud track or are made of concrete and masonry so they don't have a skin line that I could use.

I will try an experiment and split a masonry block in two (judo chop!) to see if that would work.

The question about symbol fills and motifs remains, though. The "fit to skin" option is a great thing, but the switch to turn it on reside solely at theBuilding Materials dialog box. We need to be able to activate it elsewhere in the program.

If anyone else has suggestions, they're all welcome. I think we could do a lot of things with fills and Gas if we could solve this.

_________________
Think Like a Spec Writer
OSX 10.12.6 - Windows 10 - AC18-9019USA + AC21-4022USA Rhino5/Grasshopper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
squall_tmo
New member
New member

Joined: 18 Jun 2017
Posts: 19
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:40 pm    Post subject: Re: a Fill that Behaves like a Line Reply with quote

I hope I understood your question, anyway once you use Barry's Method (composite on a wall) you Just need to explode that wall in the current view (Edit>Modify>Explode into the current view), because if I don't go wrong it is the only way to place a fill with radial deformation!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> a Fill that Behaves like a Line All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy