Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> User Interface Wishes >>> Layer combinations - save current settings Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic

What's your opinion about this wish?
Essential (5)
69%
 69%  [ 9 ]
Important (4)
15%
 15%  [ 2 ]
Average (3)
7%
 7%  [ 1 ]
Not important (2)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Not needed (1)
7%
 7%  [ 1 ]
Average: 4.38 points
Total Votes : 13

Author Message
Aki Hirvikangas
New member
New member

Joined: 24 Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Location: Oulu

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:43 am    Post subject: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

Editing existing layer combinations is very slow and frustrating. Changing visibility of new layers to the combination requires two clicks / one layer.

It would be much easier to just adjust all layers however you want and then for example right click layer combination name and select "Save current settings".

That's my humble request.

_________________
Archicad 20/5025, Mac OS-X 10.12.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5970
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:39 am    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

That's what the "Update" button under the layer combinations is for.
Select the combination you want to change.
Turn on/off, lock/unlock, solid/wireframe and adjust layer intersection priority to all the layers as you want them and then press the "Update" button to save that layer combination.

This is the old way we had to do it many versions ago and has been a little forgotten.

Now we can select a layer and update its settings in all the layer combinations by adjusting the settings next to all the layer combinations without having to press update at all.

So it can be done layer by layer in all the combinations (no update required) or one layer combination at a time and you must "Update".

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Ma_Scht
New member
New member

Joined: 04 May 2013
Posts: 18
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:06 am    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

Hallo Barry,
I guess, you misunderstood.

Sample how it should be:
You are in AC, turn off visibility of some layers as you like.
Now CTRL-L >>
CLICK on LAYERCOMBINATION “XYZ” >>
NEW BUTTON “UPDATE ACCORDING CURRENT AC-VIEW”

This is currently NOT possible, as far as I know.

At the moment:
If you click in LAYER-MANAGER to a LAYCOMBI, all changes you made in AC before are overwritten by this LAYCOMBI. That’s the problem to vote for solve.

Best regard Mario

_________________
With best begards
Mario

AC20 HKLSE, WIN 7, 64bit, Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1650, 32 GB, NVIDIA Quadro K4200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
runxel
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 07 Mar 2015
Posts: 124
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:30 am    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

Ma_Scht wrote:

At the moment:
If you click in LAYER-MANAGER to a LAYCOMBI, all changes you made in AC before are overwritten by this LAYCOMBI. That’s the problem to vote for solve.


Haha, this happens every time to me.... Laughing
Already so much time wasted. The layer combos how they are now are somehow useless, because it slows you down.

_________________
AC 20 | Mac 10.12 | Author of the GDL plugin for Sublime Text
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Aki Hirvikangas
New member
New member

Joined: 24 Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Location: Oulu

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:01 am    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

Ma_Scht wrote:
Hallo Barry,
I guess, you misunderstood.

Sample how it should be:
You are in AC, turn off visibility of some layers as you like.
Now CTRL-L >>
CLICK on LAYERCOMBINATION “XYZ” >>
NEW BUTTON “UPDATE ACCORDING CURRENT AC-VIEW”

This is currently NOT possible, as far as I know.

At the moment:
If you click in LAYER-MANAGER to a LAYCOMBI, all changes you made in AC before are overwritten by this LAYCOMBI. That’s the problem to vote for solve.

Best regard Mario


Thanks for the clarification. That's exactly what I meant. I want to update layer combinations same way as the settings of views. First adjust visually what I need and then save.

_________________
Archicad 20/5025, Mac OS-X 10.12.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5970
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:15 am    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

Yes I see what you mean now.
You can create a "new" layer combination based on the current layer settings, but you can't modify an existing layer combination based on current settings.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Ma_Scht
New member
New member

Joined: 04 May 2013
Posts: 18
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:21 am    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

Hallo Barry,
and the problem with creating a NEW LAYCOMBI is, that the NEW one hast got a different ID. AC use the internal ID-No., not the name of the LAYCOMBI and a new one get a new number, as you can see in ATTRIBUTE-MANAGER.

If you cancel the old one and rename the new one like old one’s name, it will NOT be updated in AC’s excerpts (Ausschnitt-Mappe in German, next after PROJECT in Navigator). There is written “missing”.
You have to change manually to new one. That take very much time and is very fault-prone. So I generally update the existing one if needed, but I hate this more than ant in soda pop. :--)

Best Regards
Mario

_________________
With best begards
Mario

AC20 HKLSE, WIN 7, 64bit, Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1650, 32 GB, NVIDIA Quadro K4200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Erwin Edel
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 1375
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:21 am    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

Complicated workaround is complicated, but if you need to change a lot of layers, you could use attribute manager to overwrite the old layercombination with the new one.

Append the new combo to the right until you have the correct indexnumber, then overwrite it back to the left.

Still a lot of work, but if you prefer to make layer combinations by turning off layers in your model, this will work.

_________________
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-20 NED FULL
BIMx
Windows 10 Pro 1607 / OS X Sierra
Adobe Design Premium CS4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Milan Varga
Guest
Guest

Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

This is the exact thing that was bugging me for years now, and the reason why I and many colleagues avoid using Layer combinations. I think that this would be an extraordinary improvement for layer combination functionality. Literally every user who knows about LC would use this function.

Regards,
Milan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Link
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 3890
Location: Ketchum Idaho USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Layer combinations - save current settings Reply with quote

A half workaround is this:

Open the layer settings dialog and sort the layers by visibility. Select all the layers that are currently visible by shift selecting the last one. Then select your layer combo. Your layers will still remain selected. Click on the eyeball to make them all visible. If you don't use locking or wifeframe, you could also lock or wireframe them all here as a temporary measure. For the ones that are not selected you need to manually change them to be hidden, but this is where the locked/wireframed ones will come in handy, to help you recognize the leftovers. Once you've made the correct layers visible/hidden unlock/un-wireframe them all and update your layer combo.

I've used this technique many times and it works well if you stretch your layer settings dialog out and take a screenshot if necessary.

But yes it would be nice to have an update button, so long as it didn't clutter the interface.

Cheers,
Link.



Layer Combo.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  347.6 KB
 Viewed:  9 Time(s)

Layer Combo.jpg



_________________
Want a ground-breaking ARCHICAD Template? For FREE?! BIM6x Template Kits!

Boost your ARCHICAD skill with your very own ARCHICAD Expert! ArchiBOOST!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website   Facebook ID (Not full URL, just ID!) LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> User Interface Wishes >>> Layer combinations - save current settings All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy