Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> linked drawings dwg Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
FFFFF
New member
New member

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 23
Location: montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:04 pm    Post subject: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

Hello

Some dwg links i have keep breaking, i get a ? to be checked, and when I check it says the external project not accessible..., source file.....,bim/cloud.....

At certain times i can relink it, but somehow it keeps breaking.

all files are set o absolute.

AC20 on windows
thanks



Capture.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  196.72 KB
 Viewed:  19 Time(s)

Capture.JPG



_________________
Foti B.
AC20 /PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Lingwisyer
New member
New member

Joined: 02 May 2017
Posts: 39
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:07 am    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

[s]Is your model on the server too? If not, it might be due to network drives not being assigned a drive letter and hence get assigned a generic letter from those available on connection meaning that the address of the linked drawings will change.[/s]

Refer to post above which is more likely the case


Ling.

_________________
AC18-21 AUS
Win7 | 24GB


Last edited by Lingwisyer on Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:23 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
FFFFF
New member
New member

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 23
Location: montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:16 am    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

Hello Lingwisyer

Yes the model is on the serve and I keep all the dwgs in the same main folder. Itís very weird, I have electrical plans that are linked and those work fine, just all of a sudden half of the mechanical donít work.

I think Iíll have to re load all the plans, was trying to avoid that, if that even helps. Any other suggestions?

Thanks

_________________
Foti B.
AC20 /PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Lingwisyer
New member
New member

Joined: 02 May 2017
Posts: 39
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:18 am    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

Can't do a strike though of my last post... so I'll put this in a new one.

Given that it is only one file (or a few, not all) and all dwgs are on the same server, it might be that someone else is accessing that drawing. Archicad doesn't like it when xrefs are in use... I get around this by having an xref folder specific for Archicad that contains a duplicate of all used dwgs that I update as required. That fixes most conflicts except when said dwgs contain xrefs which themselves are in use in which case you get holes in your drawing... though this could be solved by setting the xrefs within the dwgs as relative and duplicating those as well.


Ling.

_________________
AC18-21 AUS
Win7 | 24GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Bruce
Active member
Active member

Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 495
Location: Auckland New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:36 am    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

This problem would happen sometimes in AC16. The solution then was to refresh the status of all drawings in the drawing manager (using the button at the top). This would give the drawings a digital kick, and theyíd behave again
_________________
Bruce Walker
www.brucepwalker.com
https://www.mindmeister.com/65450406

AC20 6005 AUS Full & AC 21 4022 NZE Full | Win 10 Pro 64 | Intel i7-7700HQ 2.80GHz | 16 Gb RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 8Mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
FFFFF
New member
New member

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 23
Location: montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:36 pm    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

Thanks

Nothing seems to be working.

Looks like ill have to reload all the dwgs, since im a new at this, should they be "place an external drawing" or should i xref them?

_________________
Foti B.
AC20 /PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
FFFFF
New member
New member

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 23
Location: montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:56 pm    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

Problem, solved

I have different layers for MEP, I decided to lock the layers, and there was the problem. Keep the layers of placed external drawings unlocked and they reload and update no problem.

I think this should get looked at, I had locked them as I did not want to move different layers from other eng.

_________________
Foti B.
AC20 /PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Bruce
Active member
Active member

Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 495
Location: Auckland New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:29 pm    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

A good method for working with external dwgs is to place them into their own Worksheets. This way, they never get in the way of modelling, but can be trace & referenced into the plan when required.
_________________
Bruce Walker
www.brucepwalker.com
https://www.mindmeister.com/65450406

AC20 6005 AUS Full & AC 21 4022 NZE Full | Win 10 Pro 64 | Intel i7-7700HQ 2.80GHz | 16 Gb RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 8Mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
FFFFF
New member
New member

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 23
Location: montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:58 pm    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

Hi Bruce, I thought about that but can you place a workset in a floor pan in a view map? or just on a layout? I though those where as a trace only?
_________________
Foti B.
AC20 /PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Bruce
Active member
Active member

Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 495
Location: Auckland New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:01 pm    Post subject: Re: linked drawings dwg Reply with quote

You can create a view of the drawing in the worksheet, which can then be placed on the layout.

Alternatively (depending on what works best for your particular situation), you can place another drawing of the same dwg directly onto the layout.

_________________
Bruce Walker
www.brucepwalker.com
https://www.mindmeister.com/65450406

AC20 6005 AUS Full & AC 21 4022 NZE Full | Win 10 Pro 64 | Intel i7-7700HQ 2.80GHz | 16 Gb RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 8Mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> linked drawings dwg All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy