Search the Knowledge Base Report a bug
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view   .    ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Viewmap model showing up in different window Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ngoldie
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Posts: 69
Location: sydney

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:01 am    Post subject: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

Hi,

When I go to click on a layout in the View Map it goes into a separate window to Archicad, if I go to close the separate window it goes to shut the whole program down. Any ideas?

Thanks
Naomi

_________________
Archicad 20
MacBook Pro - laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5973
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:39 am    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

There are no layouts in the view map so I assume you mean you are opening a view?
Can you post a screen shot of your entire screen, with the separate view open and show us the button you are clicking to close it.
You can blur the model if you don't want anyone seeing the details.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ngoldie
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Posts: 69
Location: sydney

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

Hi Barry,

Sorry yes I meant opening a view in the ViewMap.
I've attached a screen shot of the window that opens when I click in a view.
I can't get rid of it. I'm not sure what I pressed to get the extra window.
The button I press to close it is just he red x in the left corner at the top.

Thanks
Naomi

_________________
Archicad 20
MacBook Pro - laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ngoldie
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Posts: 69
Location: sydney

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

here is the screenshot


Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 10.02.38 AM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  311.98 KB
 Viewed:  12 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 10.02.38 AM.png



_________________
Archicad 20
MacBook Pro - laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5973
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:06 am    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

OK, that is your floor plan window which is why when you try to close it Archicad will ask you to save your project.

You have managed to un-maximise it and therefore it is no longer docked in the tab bar.
It will still have a tab in the tab bar but will open in a free-floating window.

Sorry I am not familiar with Mac controls, but in Windows I can just double click in the title bar of that window and it will maximize and return to the tab bar.
Or I can click the middle maximise button in the title which maybe equates to the yellow button on a Mac?

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ejrolon
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 4000
Location: Puerto Rico and Miami

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:06 am    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

Window Menu -> Dock Window
_________________
eduardo rolón AIA
Macbook Pro 2.6 i7 16GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC21US -> AC08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website    LinkedIn Profile Link (Full URL, please)
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5973
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:16 am    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

ejrolon wrote:
Window Menu -> Dock Window


Unless, like me, you have a custom or old version Work Environment and that command isn't there. Laughing

I was looking as I was sure you can control the tabs from the menus.

I must have missed this command when I updated my WE.
I will have to add it.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Stress Co.
Senior member
Senior member

Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 1498
Location: N 43º 31.16', W 114º 18.895', Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

ngoldie wrote:
Hi,

When I go to click on a layout in the View Map it goes into a separate window to Archicad

Are you in "Legacy Window Mode"?
Menu: Options> Work Environment>



Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 1.57.45 PM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  223.87 KB
 Viewed:  13 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 1.57.45 PM.png



_________________
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.11.5
Processor: 3.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Core i7
Memory: 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
ArchiCAD 21 (4022 USA Full)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
ngoldie
Junior member
Junior member

Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Posts: 69
Location: sydney

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

That was it, thanks!!
_________________
Archicad 20
MacBook Pro - laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 5973
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:00 am    Post subject: Re: Viewmap model showing up in different window Reply with quote

Stress Co. wrote:
ngoldie wrote:
Hi,

When I go to click on a layout in the View Map it goes into a separate window to Archicad

Are you in "Legacy Window Mode"?
Menu: Options> Work Environment>


Must be a Mac thing?
I don't have that option even with the default Work Environment.

Barry.

_________________
Versions 6.5 to 21
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 7 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view       ArchiCAD-Talk Forum Index >>> Working in ARCHICAD >>> Viewmap model showing up in different window All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2012 - Graphisoft SE. All rights reserved worldwide. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy