The Global Archicad Community

Stay informed. Get help. Share your knowledge.

Speed/Display issues/unfamiliar error messages, crashes/hangs or any other problems regarding Archicad (Example: I get an error message when the 3D Window is generated, please help!).
Note: If your problem seems to be an Archicad error please always report it to your local reseller!

Moderators: ejrolon, Barry Kelly, Karl Ottenstein, LaszloNagy, gkmethy

User avatar
By Dave Brach
#315113
in the past 8-12 months I have started seeing multiple automatically -generated text edit files appearing in every folder that has .pln files. What are they and is there a way to stop this or set the mac finder so they do not show up? to me it's just clutter when I'm looking for files
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-08-16 at 10.33.12 AM.png
User avatar
By SeRohde
#315156
I have absolutly no experience or knowledge of Macs - but at first sight the cloud icon gets my attention.
Could it be related to the folder which is linked to a cloud and the synchronizing state is stored in such files (src_0123465789) ?
The filesize indicates this too i guess.
Last edited by SeRohde on Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
By mnguyen
#315167
Hi Dave,

Thank you very much for your question and I am very sorry about the issue!

As SeRohde mentioned, the cloud icon in the screenshot makes me wonder: Are you using any cloud backup service to save Archicad files? Those src file could be the temporary file of the backing up process that was not deleted afterward?
Could you try to save the file locally and see if the issue persists inside the local folder?

Best regards,
Minh
User avatar
By Dave Brach
#315169
oh yes, we use box drive. I'll take the question to them, thanks
User avatar
By mikas
#315178
This happens with dropbox too sometimes. I don't know about Box.

Regarding to DropBox only:
They should not be any important files, and I have understood you can delete them if you want/need to.

I am not sure, but I think these appear if your file is big enough, and you save too rapidly after another save just before. I mean like a second or a couple of seconds after just another earlier save.

They supposedly are some temporary cache or helper files for the cloud sync agent to keep on track with the user hitting panic saves. Might be a symptom of a temporary internet problem too. Sync after save has not received a confirmation, so a temporary file is necessary too keep the promised time line available. There is this feature (DropBox) to go back in time, like a snapshot or Time Machine recovery spot for a file.

That's my understanding, but I really don't know for sure. Those files should not be visible to the user though.