The Global Archicad Community

Stay informed. Get help. Share your knowledge.

Sharing a project for a team, accessing projects remotely. Setup of BIMcloud/Users/Roles, Working/Messaging in Teamwork (Example: What are the firewall settings for the BIMcloud to make it accessible over the Internet?)

Moderators: Karl Ottenstein, LaszloNagy, ejrolon, Barry Kelly, Gordana Radonic, nbalogh, mnguyen, gkmethy, Istvan Moharos, Marton Kiss

#165393
Ok, so i did what Greg suggested i.e. everybody left the project, i saved a PLN, and i re-shared.
It worked ok for a couple of days...
and today...
guess what?
The same problem!
I get the same error message: "Unsent changes in your source project are preventing the status checking process.
Go to the project and send your changes to the Server, then press the Check Status command again in the current project."

This is really bad.
#166429
Some updates on the problem... (in case there is anyone interested)
The problem still persists... Re-sharing doesn't solve the problem.
After a lot of trial and error (mostly error) i found that to be able to update drawings, i must follow a specific order in Send&Receive, and after everyone has sent changes then open the file with the layouts.

Another thing: When publishing DWG's i get this message (see attached image) even if i had just updated the drawings. The publishing process get's stuck, and i have to click on the "Stop checking" button otherwise, it goes on forever (or at least for as much i had the patience to wait, a lot!). And i have to do it for every single drawing!
Attachments
Screen shot 2010-03-23 at 4.56.00 PM.png
Screen shot 2010-03-23 at 4.56.00 PM.png (17.66 KiB) Viewed 967 times
#166772
To avoid the drawing update during the publishing process the best method is setting every drawing to manual update. The update can be done after everybody has sent the changes.
#171479
I'm happy to say that finally, with build 3600 the above described problem has been finally solved.


ALTHOUGH:

If the linked view belongs to a file with a previous build, it is impossible to update the view. A misleading error message appears: see attached image.

This should be somehow addressed, and it should me mentioned on the GS Collaboration Guide.
Attachments
Screen shot 2010-06-21 at 10.04.40 AM.png
Screen shot 2010-06-21 at 10.04.40 AM.png (35.46 KiB) Viewed 948 times
#171867
I was too fast to say the problem was solved... :x

The problem appeared again often!

What happens now, is that upon updating an external view the background Archicad crashes. But the PLN with the linked view stays open with the updating process still running!!! (the two green arrows turning)

Isn't that great!?!?!?!?

I have sent the bug reports to GS, but i'm not holding my breath... i suppose they couldn't care less about problems on AC 13...
#171935
Achille Pavlidis wrote: If the linked view belongs to a file with a previous build, it is impossible to update the view. A misleading error message appears: see attached image.

This should be somehow addressed, and it should me mentioned on the GS Collaboration Guide.

GS has stressed that for TW to be successful, all users must be on the same build. You should also open all files in the new build prior to working so the set of files for a project are all on the same build.
#171938
I know that Erika...
my remark was not referred to TW2.

I was talking about having a PLN file, that has linked views from other PLN (solo) files.
If the PLN with the layouts and linked views is build 3600, and some of the linked PLN solo files containing the 3d model are build 3259, then you cannot update the views and a strange error message appears.

Maybe i haven't made myself perfectly clear.

Anyway the other problem (which is the serious one) still persists...
#171939
Sorry Achille, :oops: ,I didn't realize that you were trying to link from solo files.
When you open the solo files in the same build and then link do you get the same error messages/problems?