The Global ARCHICAD Community

Stay informed. Get help. Share your knowledge.

Sharing a project for a team, accessing projects remotely. Setup of BIM Server/Users/Roles, Working/Messaging in Teamwork (Example: What are the firewall settings for the BIM server to make it accessible over the Internet?)

Moderators: ejrolon, Barry Kelly, Karl Ottenstein, LaszloNagy, gkmethy

By Stan Rostas
#228014
If you have shared a project file, but then want to rename, is there a method? BIM server Manager does not seem to be able to to this and the user cannot rename from best we can tell?
By Stan Rostas
#228015
Already got a reply,

Currently you cannot rename the project directly. For now, to rename a project you must re-create the project in one of 3 ways:

A. Create a Manual Backup in the Server Manager; then Roll-back to this manual back-up and tell it create a new project; at this point you can rename the project.

B. From Server Manager, Export the project as a .BIMProject; then Create>Import from file to bring the project back in; at this point you can rename the project.

C. From ArchiCAD, save the file as a .PLN and re-share; at this point you can rename the project.

Of course in all 3 cases everyone will need to join the the newly created project.
By Mats_Knutsson
#274840
Marton Kiss wrote:Stan,

thank you for posting the possible alternatives. Starting from ArchiCAD 18 we will offer a purely server side functionality to rename any Teamwork projects.

Cheers,
Marton


Hi Marton,
I just want to make sure I got this right... When I rename a TW-project everyone needs to re-join!?
/Mats
User avatar
By Marton Kiss
#274842
Mats_Knutsson wrote:
Hi Marton,
I just want to make sure I got this right... When I rename a TW-project everyone needs to re-join!?
/Mats


Hi Mats,

starting from ARCHICAD 21 re-join is no longer necessary. Users still will be required to reopen the renamed project, but the local cache of the project will be kept and relinked to the new name once the project is reopened.

m
By Mats_Knutsson
#274873
Marton Kiss wrote:
Mats_Knutsson wrote:
Hi Marton,
I just want to make sure I got this right... When I rename a TW-project everyone needs to re-join!?
/Mats


Hi Mats,

starting from ARCHICAD 21 re-join is no longer necessary. Users still will be required to reopen the renamed project, but the local cache of the project will be kept and relinked to the new name once the project is reopened.

m


That's great Marton. :) Mats