The Global ARCHICAD Community

Stay informed. Get help. Share your knowledge.

Sharing a project for a team, accessing projects remotely. Setup of BIM Server/Users/Roles, Working/Messaging in Teamwork (Example: What are the firewall settings for the BIM server to make it accessible over the Internet?)

Moderators: Karl Ottenstein, LaszloNagy, ejrolon, Barry Kelly, gkmethy

User avatar
By Matthew Johnson
Interesting technical issue to share and discuss:

While working on a Teamwork file with the BIM server one of our machines crashed up to a dozen times causing it's local copies of the Teamwork data to corrupt. Other users could still access the project on the BIM server but the user who's machine crashed was not able to re-join the project and was presented with lots of messages telling them that the BIM server file was corrupt and would cause ArchiCAD to crash before promptly causing ArchiCAD to crash (top marks to the guy who wrote the code that predicts that one!)

The only workaround we managed to find was to delete the problematic user from the BIM server and give them a new user account. They were then able to join the Teamwork file from their old computer without any further problems. I guess then that this has something to do with the local copy of the Teamwork data becoming corrupted, and different user's "drafts" (to use an old Teamwork 1.0 term) are stored in different locations.

My questions then are this:

Has anyone else has this happen?

Is there another way to remove the corrupt draft and rebuild from the BIM server file?

Is there another work around?

The file we are working on was previously a V12 Teamwork file of over 280Mb that caused many headaches when sending and receiving (up to 25min for a single send/receive). We have since broken it up into a V13 Teamwork model file (I think about 140Mb) and a solo layout book file (around 120Mb). What size limits do other's find work with V13 Teamwork 2.0?
User avatar
By LaszloNagy
Here is my idea (this is not GS recommendation):
There is a TW Data folder on your computer that stores local copies.
Its location is found and set at the bottom of the Special Folder page of the Work Environment Dialog.
If you delete everything from the TW Data folder that should clear the local copies.