The Global ARCHICAD Community

Stay informed. Get help. Share your knowledge.

Any other not ARCHICAD related questions.

Moderators: Karl Ottenstein, LaszloNagy, ejrolon, Barry Kelly, gkmethy

What's your opinion about this wish?

Essential (5)
16
73%
Important (4)
1
5%
Average (3)
1
5%
Not important (2)
No votes
0%
Not needed (1)
4
18%
#246034
I don't know if there are many people in my situation but since Archicad 19 there was a annoying change made with the drag multiple command. Yet it had it's support. Now when you use the drag a multiple copy command the original element remains selected too. Here is a quote explaining the reason of this change.

"This change was made by purpose in ARCHICAD 19. So by now, ARCHICAD does select the original elements too after Drag a Copy, Rotate a Copy and Mirror a Copy commands. This was a wish of a lot of users, who needed to make an Undo then a Redo to select the original elements too."

Yet, for my workstyle it's a downgrade. When I create new copies of an element and I wan' t to move / change them in a new place, I'm draging / changing the original element too, which most of the time I really don't wan't too.

My wish is too create an option to use this command in the same condition as was before as in Archicad 18,17,16.
Please support me if there are others who wan' t the drag multiple copy command not maintaining the original element too :).
Last edited by haidu_bogdan on Mon Sep 07, 2015 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
#246078
haidu_bogdan wrote:"This change was made by purpose in ARCHICAD 19. So by now, ARCHICAD does select the original elements too after Drag a Copy, Rotate a Copy and Mirror a Copy commands. This was a wish of a lot of users, who needed to make an Undo then a Redo to select the original elements too."


For clarity, I am not seeing this behavior with the Drag a Copy etc. commands, it happens only with the Drag Multiple Copies etc. commands.

David
#246102
Yes, this happens with the Drag Multiple Copies and Rotate Multiple Copies commands.
What I think the best would be for Graphisoft to give users the choice to a) keep the Original element selected, b) keep the copy or copies selected, or c) keep both the original and the copy (copies) selected.
This could be a trio of radio buttons or a pair of checkboxes ("keep original element selected" checkbox + "keep copies selected" checkbox) in the Work Environment Dialog and with this every user would be happy.
#247468
Often after copying I want to edit in some way those new instances. If I need original to be selected then I select it after command is done. If there is more than one element then I group them before copying so I can select them with just one click.
At least put the legacy mode for old users.
I just don't understand why graphisoft change "on purpose" stuff that work great.
What is more essential is to fix stairs not things that are working just fine.
#260098
Just upgraded from 18 to 20 and coming across this change for the first time!

This quirk is immensely frustrating and completely unnecessary, and adds an extra step to a workflow that was previously smooth and fast.

Please fix!!! (or give users the option to control the situation!!!)